IHLC Results – Canada 3-0 Finland – Mar. 31, 2009

canada1965-11 Canada 3-0 Finland finland-11
Exhibition Game
Lempäälä Areena, Lempäälä finland-11
Tuesday, March 31, 2009

Canada’s National Women’s Team will head into the 2009 IIHF World Women’s Championship riding a three-game winning streak after defeating Finland 3-0 on Tuesday.

Meghan Agosta picked up the eventual game-winner just shy of the 12-minute mark of the opening period, snapping a shot past Finnish goaltender Noora Räty on a breakaway for a 1-0 Canadian lead.

Canada doubled its lead in the second period on the power play when Haley Irwin earned her first international goal with Canada’s National Women’s Team, banking a centering pass a Finnish defender and past Räty.

Sarah Vaillancourt rounded out the scoring with just 70 seconds remaining on the clock, converting into an empty net.

Shannon Szabados made 20 saves for Canada’s second consecutive shutout. It blanked the Espoo Blues on Sunday, and also scored a win over EHC Red Devil on Saturday.

The team will now prepare for the 2009 IIHF World Women’s Championship, which starts on April 4 in Hämeenlinna when Canada faces China.

1st Period
06:12 – finland-11 PEN – Laaksonen, interference
06:30 – canada1965-11 PEN – Hefford, hooking
11:55 – canada1965-11 GOAL – Agosta (Sostorics, Kellar)
14:26 – canada1965-11 PEN – Wickenheiser, high sticking

2nd Period
20:25 – finland-11 PEN – Voutilainen, hooking
23:47 – finland-11 PEN – Jalosuo, hooking
24:04 – canada1965-11 PP GOAL – Irwin (Mikkelson, Vaillancourt)
29:10 – canada1965-11 PEN – Poulin, holding
33:31 – canada1965-11 PEN – Vaillancourt, interference

3rd Period
45:24 – canada1965-11 PEN – Hefford, hooking
48:07 – finland-11 PEN – Karvinen, tripping
51:53 – finland-11 PEN – Kovalainen, slashing
54:37 – canada1965-11 PEN – Mikkelson, tripping
58:50 – canada1965-11 EN GOAL – Vaillancourt (Hefford, Wickenheiser)

W: canada1965-11 Szabados (20-20)
L: finland-11 Räty (35-37)

canada1965-11 15+12+11 = 38
finland-11 7+4+9 = 20

canada1965-11 Goaltenders: Charline Labonté, Kim St-Pierre, Shannon Szabados. Defence: Tessa Bonhomme, Gillian Ferrari, Becky Kellar, Carla MacLeod, Meaghan Mikkelson, Colleen Sostorics, Catherine Ward. Forwards: Meghan Agosta, Gillian Apps, Jennifer Botterill, Jayna Hefford, Haley Irwin, Rebecca Johnston, Gina Kingsbury, Caroline Ouellette, Marie-Philip Poulin, Sarah Vaillancourt, Hayley Wickenheiser.
finland-11 Goaltenders: Maija Hassinen, Mira Kuisma, Noora Räty. Defence: Jenni Hiirikoski, Mira Jalosuo, Kati Kovalainen, Emma Laaksonen, Heidi Pelttari, Mariia Posa, Saija Sirviö. Forwards: Venla Heikkilä, Anne Helin, Michelle Karvinen, Mari Pehkonen, Karoliina Rantamäki, Mari Saarinen, Nina Tikkinen, Saara Tuominen, Satu Tuominen, Linda Välimäki, Marjo Voutilainen.

canada1965-11 CANADA vs. FINLAND (C) finland-11
new champion
(previous 11/07/2008)
Last Title reign ends
(since 02/15/2009)
153 All-Time Wins
33 wins Head-To-Head
(+ 1 tie)
0 wins
First IHLC Meeting (CAN vs. FIN)
canada1965-11 CAN 6-5 FIN finland-11 – 03/24/1990 – WWC – Ottawa canada1965-11
Previous IHLC Meeting (CAN vs. FIN)
canada1965-11 CAN 4-2 FIN finland-11 – 04/09/2008 – WWC – Harbin china-11
Last IHLC Game
finland-11 FIN 2-1 SWE sweden-11 – 02/15/2009 – EHT – Segeltorp sweden-11
Next IHLC Game
canada1965-11 CAN 13-1 CHN china-11 – 04/04/2009 – WWC – Hämeenlinna finland-11

Article Credit: Hockey Canada



Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.