IHLC Results – Sweden 5-4 Russia (SO) – Nov. 6, 2014

sweden-11 Sweden 5-4 Russia russia-11 (SO)
Karjala Tournament
Tegera Arena, Leksand sweden-11
Thursday, November 6, 2014

Playing on home ice in a tournament normally reserved for their Finnish foes, Sweden capitalized on a hot crowd to defeat Russia in a narrow 5-4 shootout, avoiding two collapses to hang on to the win and capture the International Hockey Lineal Championship.

While Tre Kronor dominated the first twenty minutes, striking both on a powerplay goal from Patrik Hersley and a shorthanded marker from Andreas Enqvist, and outshooting The Red Machine 13-6, Russia roared back in the second, outshooting Sweden 15-8 and scoring three consecutive goals for the lead. First was a quick pair from Dmitri Kugryshev and Denis Kokarev in a span of 51 seconds to tie things up, followed up by a power play marker from Alexander Radulov just under three minutes later to take the lead. While David Ullström was able to equalize on a backhander beating Russian goalie Stanislav Galimov to tie things up at 3-3 after two, it was obvious the Russian attack was taking its toll on Sweden.

Both teams brought a more balanced attack in the third, exchanging a goal each in a span of 53 seconds to tie the game at 4-4 and send things to overtime. With overtime solving nothing, only two goals were needed for Sweden to seal the victory, a nifty backhander from André Petersson and a nifty wrister from Linus Klasen that beat Galimov. Anders Nilsson stood tall in net for Sweden, stoning both Radulov and Kugryshev to lock up the “W” and send the Swedes to Helsinki with a win in hand.

With the victory, Sweden captures its record 73rd International Hockey Lineal Championship, their first IHLC since last year’s Karjala Tournament, won in a 3-2 overtime victory over Finland. Russia, after winning the IHLC in the World Championship Gold Medal Game victory over Finland in May, drops the IHLC in their first defense, the first IHLC tilt (and 137th in history) between Russia and Sweden since the 2013 Channel One Cup, when Russia dispatched Sweden 3-2 in their first game following the aforementioned win over Finland. Sweden now will face the Czech Republic next for the IHLC, with the Czechs hoping to win their first IHLC in 21 months.

1st Period
00:28 – russia-11 PEN – Medvedev, holding
01:35 – sweden-11 PP GOAL – Hersley (Danielsson, Klasen)
02:07 – sweden-11 PEN – Janmark, interference
07:10 – russia-11 PEN – Kugryshev, holding
11:07 – sweden-11 PEN – Janmark, tripping
12:21 – sweden-11 SH GOAL – Engqvist (Brithén)

2nd Period
20:47 – sweden-11 PEN – Lundqvist, holding
25:57 – russia-11 PEN – Kutuzov, slashing
30:50 – russia-11 GOAL – Kugryshev (Slepyshev)
31:41 – russia-11 GOAL – Kokarev (Zubov)
32:46 – sweden-11 PEN – Ullström, tripping
34:03 – russia-11 PP GOAL – Radulov (Zubov, Medvedev)
36:09 – sweden-11 GOAL – Ullström (Urbom, Klasen)
36:22 – sweden-11 PEN – Janmark, slashing
36:22 – russia-11 PEN – Zubov, charging
37:18 – sweden-11 PEN – Ericsson, holding
39:31 – sweden-11 PEN – Urbom, delay of game

3rd Period
43:54 – russia-11 PEN – Radulov, hooking
45:04 – sweden-11 PP GOAL – Wandell (Fransson)
45:57 – russia-11 GOAL – Slepyshev (Kugryshev)
52:47 – sweden-11 PEN – Burström, hooking


sweden-11 Petersson scored
 Radulov stopped
sweden-11 Klasen scored

russia-11 Kugryshev stopped

W: sweden-11 Nilsson (25-29)
L: russia-11 Galimov (30-35)

sweden-11 13+8+10+3+1 = 35
russia-11 6+15+8+0+0 = 29

sweden-11 Goaltenders: Henrik Karlsson, Anders Nilsson. Defence: Niclas Andersén, Niclas Burström, Johan Fransson, Patrik Hersley, Niclas Lundgren, Daniel Rahimi. Alexander Urbom. Forwards: Dick Axelsson, Ted Brithén, Nicklas Danielsson (A), Andreas Engqvist, Jimmie Ericsson (A), Mattias Janmark, Linus Klasen, Joel Lundqvist (C), Marcus Paulsson, André Petersson, Calle Ridderwall, Andreas Thuresson, David Ullström, Tom Wandell.
russia-11 Goaltenders: Stanislav Galimov, Ilya Sorokin. Defence: Alexander Kutuzov, Yevgeni Medvedev (C), Andrei Mironov, Nikita Pivtsakin, Roman Rukavishnikov, Ivan Vishnevski. Forwards: Sergei Andronov, Daniil Apalkov, Yegor Averin, Pavel Buchnevich, Sergei Kalinin (A), Denis Kokarev, Dmitri Kugryshev, Kirill Petrov, Alexander Radulov (A), Anton Slepyshev, Nikolai Zherdev, Ilya Zubov.

Photo Credit: Hockey Sverige – IIHFHHOFIOC



Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s