🇨🇦 🇺🇸 Clarkson And Isobel Cups Awarded In Rival Leagues

It was a big weekend for women’s hockey, as both the Clarkson Cup in the CWHL and the inaugural Isobel Cup in the NWHL were awarded, to the Calgary Inferno and Boston Pride, respectively.

It was an upset of the Canadiennes of Montréal before a stunned crowd in Ottawa, as the Inferno, who won just two of six in their season series against the 21-3 Canadiennes, thrashed the powerhouse 8-3, with a pair of goals from each Blayre Turnbull, Brianne Jenner, Jessica Campbell and Rebecca Johnston. With the win, four new Canadian players join the unofficial women’s version of the Triple Gold Club: Jenner, Johnston, Meaghan Mikkelson and women’s hockey legend Hayley Wickenheiser, finally adding the Cup to their Olympic and World Championship Golds with Calgary’s first title.

In Newark, New Jersey, it was the Pride who upended the Buffalo Beauts in two straight games to win the best of three series, winning the finale 3-1 on a pair of goals from Brianna Decker, and a third from U.S. team MVP Hilary Knight. While no women from the Beauts will join the Triple Gold Club, as Team USA has not won Olympic Gold since 1998, this will surely be a large stepping stone for players like Decker, Knight, Kacey Bellamy and Gigi Marvin, in the event the Americans dethrone Canada at the 2018 Pyeongchang Olympics.

Our congratulations go out to the players from both the Pride and Infero on their historic victories!

Photo Credit: Ottawa SunYahoo! Sports – IIHFHHOFIOC


Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.