IHLC Winners Lead Metallurg To Game Seven Gagarin Cup Victory

A pair of goals from Yevgeni Timkin sealed a Game Seven victory for Metallurg Magnitogorsk, capping a wild, back and forth series against CSKA Moscow that went right to the wire, but ultimately captured Metallurg their second Gagarin Cup in three seasons with a 3-1 final.

Goalie Vasily Koshechkin stood on his head throughout the game, as the Red Army pounded Metallurg across the board, outshooting the Foxes 76-16 on the evening. However, strong defensive play backed by Koshechkin, and a decisive go-ahead goal by defender Chris Lee just three minutes after Maxim Mamin tied the game at 1-1 put the game in hand. A brutal defensive miscue by Bogdan Kiselevich of CSKA led to Timkin’s second goal, an empty netter, which clinched the victory before a stunned Moscow crowd.

With players from five nations onย the main roster, Metallurg also hosts players from three of those nations that have held the International Hockey Lineal Championship, including the aforementioned Koshechkin, as well as captain and scoring leader Sergei Mozyakin, and other stars like Alexander Syomin and Danis Zaripov. Our congratulations go out to the players, management and fans of Metallurg Magnitogorsk, and those on the roster that have also held the IHLC:

๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Viktor Antipin, defence
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Yevgeni Biryukov, defence
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ Tomรกลก Filippi, forward
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Alexei Kaigorodov, forward
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Vasily Koshechkin, goaltender
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ Jan Kovรกล™, forward
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Sergei Mozyakin, forward
๐Ÿ‡ซ๐Ÿ‡ฎ Oskar Osala, forward
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Alexander Syomin, forward
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Danis Zaripov, forward

Photo Credit: KHL Facebook โ€“ IIHF โ€“ HHOF โ€“ IOC


Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.