KHL VIII Gala Hands Out Awards To IHLC Winners

The KHL today handed out its awards to the best players in the league at the KHL VIII ceremony in Moscow, with Metallurg sniper Sergei Mozyakin leading the night with four trophies (including league MVP), and five IHLC winners taking home hardware.

It was Mozyakin who led Metallurg to their second Gagarin Cup in three years in a draining, back and forth seven game final against CSKA Moscow, taking home Top Scorer, Top Sniper and the Gentleman On Ice Award in addition to the “Golden Stick” for the league’s best player. Mozyakin is coming off a bronze medal win at the World Championships last week in Moscow, tallying six goals and nine points in nine games.

The KHL Award Trophy winners for the 2014-15 season (with winners in bold and an asterisk denoting former IHLC holders) are as follows:

Golden Stick (League MVP)
🇷🇺 Sergei Mozyakin (Metallurg)*

Top Scorer
🇷🇺 Sergei Mozyakin (Metallurg)*

Top Sniper (Most Goals)
Sergei Mozyakin (Metallurg)*

Top Scoring Defenceman
🇨🇦 Cam Barker (Slovan)

Best Troika (Highest Scoring Line)
🇨🇦 Nigel Dawes, Brandon Bochenski & Dustin Boyd (Barys)

Best Plus/Minus
🇨🇦 Mat Robinson (Dynamo)

Best Goalkeeper
🇷🇺 Ilya Sorokin (CSKA)

Alexei Cherepanov Award (Top Rookie)
🇷🇺 Artyom Alyayev (Torpedo)

Gentlemen On Ice (Sportsmanship & Performance)
🇸🇪 Staffan Kronwall (Lokomotiv)*
🇷🇺 Sergei Mozyakin (Metallurg)*

For Dedication To Hockey
🇷🇺 Konstantin Gorovikov (Dynamo)*

Iron Man Award (Most Games Played)
🇷🇺 Danis Zaripov (Metallurg)*

Best Coach
🇷🇺 Dmitri Kvartalnov (CSKA)*

Valentin Sych Award (Best General Manager)
🇷🇺 Gennady Velichkin (Metallurg)

Photo Credit: KHL Facebook – IIHFHHOFIOC



Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.