IHLC Winners Win Big At 2016 NHL Awards

The National Hockey League handed out its hardware to the best players in the world Wednesday night in the newest NHL city, Las Vegas, with ten IHLC holders representing four countries taking home trophies.

Chicago Blackhawks sniper Patrick Kane took home the top haul of the night, winning the Art Ross, Ted Lindsay and Hart trophies, becoming the first American player to win the latter as league MVP.

Kane won the MVP on the backs of his staggering 2015-16 campaign, where he tallied 46 goals and 106 points to capture the Art Ross Trophy for leading the league in points, and only finished four goals behind Alexander Ovechkin to lead the league in goals and win the Rocket Richard Trophy.

This was a night of firsts for all non-statistic based trophies, as a new winner was crowned for each award. Kane, Jaromír Jágr, Sidney Crosby and Henrik Sedin all added new trophies to their careers, while all others were first-time winners, including Anže Kopitar, who won his first two after multiple nominations.

The NHL Award Trophy winners and nominees for the 2015-16 season (with winners in bold and an asterisk denoting former IHLC holders) are as follows:

Hart Memorial Trophy (League MVP)
🇨🇦 Jamie Benn (Stars)*
🇨🇦 Sidney Crosby (Penguins)*
🇺🇸 Patrick Kane (Blackhawks)

Vezina Trophy (Top Goaltender)
🇺🇸 Ben Bishop (Lightning)
🇨🇦 Braden Holtby (Capitals)
🇺🇸 Jonathan Quick (Kings)

James Norris Memorial Trophy (Top Defenceman)
🇨🇦 Brent Burns (Sharks)*
Drew Doughty (Kings)*
🇸🇪 Erik Karlsson (Senators)

Calder Memorial Trophy (Rookie Of The Year)
🇺🇸 Shayne Gostisbehere (Flyers)
🇨🇦 Connor McDavid (Oilers)
🇷🇺 Artemi Panarin (Blackhawks)*

Lady Byng Memorial Trophy (Most Gentlemanly Conduct)
🇫🇮 Alexander Barkov (Panthers)*
🇸🇪 Loui Eriksson (Bruins)*
🇸🇮 Anže Kopitar (Kings)

Frank J. Selke Trophy (Top Defensive Forward)
🇨🇦 Patrice Bergeron (Bruins)*
🇺🇸 Ryan Kesler (Ducks)
🇸🇮 Anže Kopitar (Kings)

Jack Adams Award (Coach Of The Year)
🇨🇦 Gerard Gallant (Panthers)
🇨🇦 Lindy Ruff (Stars)*
🇨🇦 Barry Trotz (Capitals)*

Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy (Perseverance & Dedication)
🇨🇦 Pascal Dupuis (Penguins)
🇨🇿 Jaromír Jágr (Panthers)*
🇳🇴 Mats Zuccarello (Rangers)*

Ted Lindsay Award (MVP Voted By Players)
🇨🇦 Jamie Benn (Stars)*
🇨🇦 Braden Holtby (Penguins)
🇺🇸 Patrick Kane (Blackhawks)

Mark Messier Leadership Award (Top Leader)
🇷🇺 Alexander Ovechkin (Capitals)*
🇨🇦 John Tavares (Islanders)*
🇨🇦 Shea Weber (Predators)*

NHL Foundation Award (Community Service)
🇨🇦 Mark Giordano (Flames)*
🇨🇦 Matt Martin (Islanders)
🇨🇦 P.K. Subban (Canadiens)*

General Manager Of The Year
🇨🇦 Brian MacLellan (Capitals)
🇨🇦 Jim Nill (Stars)*
Jim Rutherford (Penguins)*

King Clancy Memorial Trophy (On & Off-Ice Leadership)
🇸🇪 Henrik Sedin (Canucks)*

A few trophies for the evening were already pre-determined, whether based purely on seasonal statistics, or in the case of the Conn Smythe Trophy, being awarded at the conclusion of the NHL playoffs.

Conn Smythe Trophy (Playoff MVP)
🇨🇦 Sidney Crosby (Penguins)*

Art Ross Trophy (Most Points, Season)
🇺🇸 Patrick Kane (Blackhawks)

Rocket Richard Trophy (Most Goals, Season)
🇷🇺 Alexander Ovechkin (Capitals)*

William M. Jennings Trophy (Least Goals Against, Season)
🇩🇰 Fredrik Andersen (Ducks)
John Gibson (Ducks)




Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.