2017 KHL All Star Game Rosters Announced

After overhauling their All-Star Game format to match that of the NHL’s, the Kontinental Hockey League today announced the rosters for all four divisions to partake in the 2017 KHL All Star Game, made up of a 4-on-4 tournament in Ufa, Russia on 22 January.

Like the NHL’s tournament that began in 2016, the winner of the Eastern (Bobrov vs. Tarasov) and Western (Kharlamov vs. Chernyshev) Conference divisional teams will face each other in a winner-take-all final. However, differing from the NHL is that these games are 4-on-4, and will only revert to NHL-style 3-on-3 if a game goes to overtime.

Similar to previous games, a fan vote determines the top four players for each division, with remaining spots filled in both by the media and the KHL, including one spot on each team reserved for junior players from the tier-two MHL.

From the perspective of the IHLC, there are players from six different countries playing in the game, seventeen of whom have held the IHLC at least once in their careers. Russia unsurprisingly leads the selections with 26 players, including star players (both professionally and internationally) Ilya Kovalchuk, Pavel Datsyuk and Sergei Mozyakin.

🇷🇺 Yegor Shestyorkin (SKA) 🇷🇺 Ilya Sorokin (CSKA)
🇨🇦 Chay Genoway* (Jokerit) 🇸🇪 Oscar Fantenberg (HC Sochi)
🇨🇿 Jakub Jeřábek* (Vityaz)
🇺🇸 Matthew Gilroy (Spartak) 🇷🇺 Igor Ozhiganov (CSKA)
🇷🇺 Vyacheslav Voinov (SKA) 🇨🇦 Mat Robinson* (Dynamo)
🇷🇺 Andrei Altybarmakyan** (SKA) 🇷🇺 Maxim Afinogenov (C)* (Vityaz)
🇨🇦 Jonathan Cheechoo (Slovan) 🇷🇺 Dmitri Kagarlitski (Severstal)
🇷🇺 Pavel Datsyuk (C)* (SKA) 🇷🇺 Vladimir Galuzin (Torpedo)
🇷🇺 Alexei Potapov (Torpedo)
🇨🇦 Matt Ellison* (Dinamo MN) 🇨🇦 Brandon Kozun* (Lokomotiv)
🇷🇺 Ilya Kovalchuk* (SKA) 🇷🇺 Valeri Nichushkin (CSKA)
🇨🇦 Francis Paré (Medveščak) 🇷🇺 Pavel Podluboshnov** (CSKA)
🇺🇸 Ryan Stoa (Spartak) 🇷🇺 Ivan Telegin (CSKA)
🇨🇿 Pavel Francouz (Traktor) 🇷🇺 Yegor Bobkov (Admiral)
🇷🇺 Kirill Koltsov* (Traktor) 🇷🇺 Zakhar Arzamastsev (Salavat Yulaev)
🇨🇦 Chris Lee* (Metallurg MG) 🇨🇿 Jan Kolář* (Amur)
🇷🇺 Kirill Tsulygin** (Salavat Yulaev) 🇷🇺 Yevgeni Medvedev (C)* (Avangard)
🇷🇺 Nikita Filatov (Lada) 🇰🇿 Nigel Dawes (Barys)
🇷🇺 Anatoly Golyshev (Avtomobilist) 🇷🇺 Kirill Kaprizov (Salavat Yulaev)
🇨🇿 Jan Kovář* (Metallurg MG) 🇷🇺 Anton Kovalyov** (Avangard)
🇷🇺 Sergei Mozyakin (C)* (Metallurg MG) 🇸🇪 Linus Omark* (Salavat Yulaev)
🇫🇮 Sami Lepistö* (Salavat Yulaev)
🇺🇸 Dan Sexton (Neftekhimik) 🇺🇸 Chad Rau (Red Star)
🇷🇺 Vladimir Tkachyov (Ak Bars) 🇷🇺 Maxim Shalunov (Sibir)
🇷🇺 Danis Zaripov* (Metallurg MG) 🇨🇿 Vladimir Sobotka* (Avangard)
🇷🇺 Enver Lisin (Salavat Yulaev)

Bold denotes a player selected in fan vote. A star (*) denotes players that have held the International Hockey Lineal Championship at least once. Two stars (**) denotes a junior player promoted from the MHL. A strikethrough (example) through the player’s name denotes the player is injured and will be unable to play, replacements are listed below original selection.

Photo Credit: KHL All Star Game 2017 – IIHFHHOFIOC


Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.