SKA Wins Second Gagarin Cup On Backs Of IHLC Winners

SKA Saint Petersburg roared back from an early deficit to win Game 5 of the Gagarin Cup finals 5-3 over Metallurg Magnitogorsk, capturing their second Cup in three seasons, with goals from five different scorers and a 42 save performance by Mikko Koskinen locking up the title.

Despite an early onslaught from Metallurg, with goals by Oskar Osala and Viktor Antipin giving them a 2-0 lead early in the second period, a trio of goals by Nikita Gusev, Alexander Barabanov, Yevgeni Dadonov put SKA ahead at the end of the third period, and Ilya Kovalchuk and Sergei Plotnikov tallies sealed the victory. And Koskinen, facing 20 shots in the third period (while his team put up only three), held his ground to ensure the Cup was theirs.

Three of the four nations represented on SKA have also held theย International Hockey Lineal Championship, including the aforementioned Koskinen, Dadonov, Kovalchuk and Plotnikov, as well as other star players like Viktor Tikhonov and Pavel Datsyuk, making history as a joint Stanley and Gagarin Cup winner. The victory also means that Russia will now have many of their stars from both SKA and Metallurg available for the national team, who just happened to have won the IHLC back from France just 24 hours ago, and will now face Switzerland in the third round of the Euro Hockey Challenge.

Our congratulations go out to the players, management and fans of SKA Saint Petersburg, with those on the roster that have also held the IHLC highlighted in bold:

๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Alexander Barabanov, forward
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Anton Belov, defence
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Maxim Chudinov, defence
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Yevgeni Dadonov, forward
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บย Pavel Datsyuk, forward
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Alexander Dergachyov, forward
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Svyatoslav Grebenshchikov, forward
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Nikita Gusev, forward
๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ช Patrik Hersley, defence
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Yevgeni Ivannikov, goaltender
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บย Ilya Kablukov, forward
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Evgeny Ketov, forward
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Dinar Khafizullin, defence
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Alexander Khokhlachev, forward
๐Ÿ‡ซ๐Ÿ‡ฎ Mikko Koskinen, goaltender
๐Ÿ‡ซ๐Ÿ‡ฎ Jarno Koskiranta, forward
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Ilya Kovalchuk, forward
๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Steve Moses, forward
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Arkhip Nekolenko, forward
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Sergei Plotnikov, forward
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Nikolai Prokhorkin, forward
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Roman Rukavishnikov, defence
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Yegor Rykov, defence
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Igor Shestyorkin, goaltender
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Vadim Shipachyov, forward
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Sergei Shirokov, forward
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Viktor Tikhonov, forward
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Nikita Tochitski, forward
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Vyacheslav Voinov, defence
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Ivan Volodin, forward
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Yegor Yakovlev, defence
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Dmitri Yudin, defence
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Oฤผegs Znaroks, head coach
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Arytom Zub, defence
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Andrei Zubarev, defence

Photo Credit: KHLย โ€“ IIHF โ€“ HHOF โ€“ IOC



Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.