IHLC Winners Pick Up 2017 NHL Awards Hardware

The National Hockey League handed out its hardware to the best players in the world for the 2016-17 season in Las Vegas, with seven IHLC holders representing three countries taking home trophies.

Edmonton Oilers captain Connor McDavid was the night’s big winner, taking home the trio of Hart, Art Ross and Ted Lindsay Awards, winning the first of surely many league MVP titles on the backs of his 30 goal and 100 point season. Sidney Crosby and Nick Foligno each took home a pair of trophies, the former with the Rocket Richard and Conn Smythe, and the latter with the Clancy and Messier trophies.

A few repeat winners were on display in Las Vegas, with Sergei Bobrovski winning his second Vezina Trophy, Patrice Bergeron winning a record-tying fourth Selke Trophy, and John Tortorella winning his second Jack Adams Award. Other notable winners included Brent Burns capturing his first Norris Trophy, Auston Matthews winning Rookie of the Year, and Craig Anderson accepting the Masterton Memorial Trophy with an emotional acceptance speech.

The NHL Award winners and nominees for the 2016-17 season (with winners in bold and an asterisk denoting former IHLC holders) are as follows:

Hart Memorial Trophy (League MVP)
 Sergei Bobrovski (Blue Jackets)*
canada1965-11 Sidney Crosby (Penguins)*
canada1965-11 Connor McDavid (Oilers)*

Vezina Trophy (Top Goaltender)
 Sergei Bobrovski (Blue Jackets)*
canada1965-11 Braden Holtby (Capitals)*
canada1965-11 Carey Price (Canadiens)*

James Norris Memorial Trophy (Top Defenseman)
canada1965-11 Brent Burns (Sharks)*
 Victor Hedman (Lightning)*
 Erik Karlsson (Senators)

Calder Memorial Trophy (Rookie Of The Year)
finland-11 Patrik Laine (Jets)*
Auston Matthews (Maple Leafs)

usa-11 Zach Werenski (Blue Jackets)

Lady Byng Memorial Trophy (Most Gentlemanly Conduct)
usa-11 Johnny Gaudreau (Flames)
finland-11 Mikael Granlund (Wild)*
 Vladimir Tarasenko (Blues)*

Frank J. Selke Trophy (Top Defensive Forward)
canada1965-11 Patrice Bergeron (Bruins)*
usa-11 Ryan Kesler (Ducks)*
finland-11 Mikko Koivu (Wild)*

Jack Adams Award (Coach Of The Year)
canada1965-11 Mike Babcock (Maple Leafs)*
canada1965-11 Todd McLellan (Oilers)*
usa-11 John Tortorella (Blue Jackets)*

Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy (Perseverance & Dedication)
usa-11 Craig Anderson (Senators)
canada1965-11 Andrew Cogliano (Ducks)
usa-11 Derek Ryan (Hurricanes)

Ted Lindsay Award (MVP Voted By Players)
canada1965-11 Brent Burns (Sharks)*
 Sidney Crosby (Penguins)*
canada1965-11 Connor McDavid (Oilers)*

Mark Messier Leadership Award (Top Leader)
usa-11 Nick Foligno (Blue Jackets)
canada1965-11 Ryan Getzlaf (Ducks)*
canada1965-11 Mark Giordano (Flames)*

NHL Foundation Award (Community Service)
 Travis Hamonic (Islanders)
Wayne Simmonds (Flyers)*

General Manager Of The Year
canada1965-11 Peter Chiarelli (Oilers)*
canada1965-11 Pierre Dorion (Senators)
usa-11 David Poile (Predators)

King Clancy Memorial Trophy (On & Off-Ice Leadership)
usa-11 Nick Foligno (Blue Jackets)

A few trophies for the evening were already pre-determined, whether based purely on seasonal statistics, or in the case of the Conn Smythe Trophy, being awarded at the conclusion of the NHL playoffs.

Conn Smythe Trophy (Playoff MVP)
canada1965-11 Sidney Crosby (Penguins)*

Art Ross Trophy (Most Points, Season)
canada1965-11 Connor McDavid (Oilers)*

Rocket Richard Trophy (Most Goals, Season)
canada1965-11 Sidney Crosby (Penguins)*

William M. Jennings Trophy (Least Goals Against, Season)
canada1965-11 Braden Holtby (Capitals)*




Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.