IHLC Results – Canada 9-0 Sweden – Nov. 7, 2017

 9-0 Sweden 
Four Nations Cup Preliminary Round
Florida Hospital Center Ice, Wesley Chapel 
Tuesday, November 7, 2017

Canada’s National Women’s Team leveraged its offensive prowess, getting a hat trick from Jennifer Wakefield to overtake Sweden 9-0 in the 2017 4 Nations Cup tournament-opener Tuesday afternoon.

Wakefield led the way with two even-strength goals in the second period and one on the power play with 3:32 remaining in the third, and earned an assist in the final stanza for good measure.

Marie-Philip Poulin also contributed four points with a goal and three helpers, including an assist on the Meghan Agosta opening goal, which was off a rebound of a Poulin blast 11:52 into the first period.

Despite a strong first period — and 16 shots on net — Canada only led by one heading into the intermission.

The tide would turn in the second, and the speed of the Canadian forecheck would spark a scoring spree; goals from Poulin, Wakefield (twice) and Rebecca Johnston made it a 6-0 game after 40 minutes.

A pair of young guns, Sarah Potomak and Sarah Nurse, would add two to the Canadian lead in the third before Wakefield finished her hat trick with less than five minutes to go.

Brigette Lacquette joined Wakefield and Poulin with four points, earning a quartet of assists. Overall, 11 players contributed points in the win.

Geneviève Lacasse wasn’t busy, facing just nine shots, but kept focus to secure the shutout. Her Swedish counterpart, Lovisa Berndtsson, posted 32 saves in a losing cause.

Canada will face the United States on Wednesday at Florida Hospital Center Ice.

1st Period
06:46 –  PEN – Olsson, hooking
09:14 –  PEN – Lindh, high sticking
09:14 –  PEN – Mikkelson, high sticking
11:09 –  PEN – Nylén-Persson, hooking
11:52 –  PP GOAL – Agosta (Poulin)
18:32 –  PEN – Clark, holding
19:51 –  PEN – Borgqvist, hooking

2nd Period
26:29 –  GOAL – Potomak (Wakefield)
26:55 –  PEN – Borgqivst, roughing / hooking double minor
26:55 –  PEN – Poulin, roughing
31:25 –  GOAL – Poulin (Johnston, Lacquette)
32:40 –  GOAL – Wakefield (Lacquette, Poulin)
32:59 –  PEN – Svedin, hooking
35:11 –  GOAL – Wakefield (Fortino)
38:52 –  GOAL – Johnston (Poulin, Mikkelson)
39:24 –  PEN – Nurse, interference
39:40 –  PEN – Turnbull, body checking

3rd Period
50:05 –  GOAL – Nurse (Clark, Ambrose)
50:37 –  GOAL – Agosta (Lacquette)
55:19 –  PEN – Borgqvist, holding
55:28 –  PP GOAL – Wakefield (Ambrose, Potomak)

W:  Lacasse (9-9)
L:  Berndtsson (32-41)

16+16+9 = 41
 0+5+4 = 9

 Goaltenders: Ann-Renée Desbiens, Geneviève Lacasse. Defence: Erin Ambrose, Renata Fast, Laura Fortino, Brigette Lacquette, Meaghan Mikkelson, Lauriane Rougeau (A). Forwards: Meghan Agosta, Bailey Bram, Emily Clark, Mélodie Daoust, Rebecca Johnston (A), Sarah Nurse, Sarah Potomak, Marie-Philip Poulin (C), Jillian Saulnier, Laura Stacey, Blayre Turnbull, Jennifer Wakefield.
Goaltenders: Lovisa Berndtsson, Minatsu Murase. Defence: Emmy Alasalmi, Elin Lundberg, Maja Nylén-Persson, Johanna Olofsson, Emilia Ramboldt (C), Annie Svedin. Forwards: Anna Borgqvist (A), Olivia Carlsson, Erika Grahm, Sara Hjalmarsson, Lisa Johansson, Sabina Küller, Maria Lindh, Emma Nordin, Hanna Olsson, Fanny Rask, Rebecca Stenberg, Erika Udén Johansson, Pernilla Winberg (A).

current champion
(since 10/25/2017
Last Title 09/03/2011
210 All-Time Wins
49 wins Head-To-Head
(+ 1 tie)
2 wins
First IHLC Meeting (CAN vs. SWE)
canada1965-11 CAN 4-0 SWE sweden-11 – 04/25/1987 – WWT – North York canada1965-11
Previous IHLC Meeting (CAN vs. SWE)
canada1965-11 CAN 2-0 SWE sweden-11 – 11/04/2014 – FNC – Kamloops canada1965-11
Last IHLC Game
canada1965-11 CAN 5-1 FIN finland-11 – 11/05/2017 – EX – Wesley Chapel usa-11
Next IHLC Game
usa-11 USA 4-2 CAN canada1965-11 – 11/08/2017 – FNC – Wesley Chapel usa-11

Article Credit: Hockey Canada
Photo Credit: Team Canada Twitter IIHFHHOFIOC



Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.