Ak Bars Kazan Wins Historic Third Gagarin Cup With 16 IHLC Winners

Ak Bars Kazan made KHL history on home ice, upending the expected champion CSKA Moscow in only five games to win the 2018 Gagarin Cup, becoming the first team in the league’s decade-long history to win three titles (2008, 2009, 2018).

When CSKA stunned the dominant SKA Saint Petersburg in the Western finals, it was widely expected that there was no way that the giant-slayers from the Red Army could be stopped en route to the Cup. But it was Zinetula Bilyaletdinov’s defensive-minded squad that held the Red Army to only six goals in five games, including a shutout from Emil Garipov in the finale, and losing just once in overtime. Canadian Rob Klinkhammer scored the only goal in game five early in the third period, and theย Leopards held on for the tight victory. Fellow Canadian Justin Azevedo was named playoff MVP, notching 24 points in 19 games, while Garipov finished the playoffs with an astonishing 1.55 goals against average.

The Western teams of SKA and CSKA were so dominant in fact that of the roster that just won Olympic Gold in PyeongChang, all but two of the 25 players were from one of those squads, while the remaining two came from Magnitogorsk. So while none of the Kazan players are able to unify their Gagarin Cup with Olympic Gold from this year, there are still sixteen players from four nations that have also held the International Hockey Lineal Championship, including the aforementioned Garipov and Bilyaletdinov, along with other star players Andrei Markov, Anton Lander and Danis Zaripov, who wins his record fifth Cup. Russia will now have their stars from Ak Bars and CSKA available to the national team for the upcoming Sweden Hockey Games, the final tune-up before the World Championships begin 04 May in Denmark.

Our congratulations go out to the players, management and fans of Ak Bars Kazan, with those on the roster that have also held the IHLC highlighted in bold:

๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Roman Abrosimov, defence
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Dmitri Arkhipov, forward
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Justin Azevedo, forward
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Rafael Batyrshin, defence
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Zinetula Bilyaletdinov, head coach
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Timur Bilyalov, goaltender
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Alexander Burmistrov, forward
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Andrei Chibisov, forward
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Timur Fatkullin, defence
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Stanislav Galiyev, forward
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Emil Garipov, goaltender
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Anton Glinkin, forward
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Mikhail Glukhov, forward
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Denis Golubev, foward
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Vladislav Kara, forward
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Rob Klinkhammer, forward
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Yaroslav Kosov, forward
๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ช Anton Lander, forward
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Artyom Lukoyanov, forward
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Nikita Lyamkin, defence
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Roman Mahukhov, defence
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Fyodor Malykhin, forward
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Andrei Markov, defence
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Damir Musin, defence
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Dmitri Obukhov, forward
๐Ÿ‡ซ๐Ÿ‡ฎ Atte Ohtamaa, defence
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Andrei Popov, forward
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Alexei Potapov, forward
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ Jiล™รญ Sekรกฤ, forward
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Alexander Sharychenkov, goaltender
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Mikhail Sidorov, defence
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Alexander Svitov, forward
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Vladimir Tkachyov, forward
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Vasili Tokranov, defence
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Albert Yarullin, defence
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Nikita Yazkov, foward
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Stepan Zakharchuk, defence
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Danis Zaripov, forward

Photo Credit: KHLย โ€“ IIHF โ€“ HHOF โ€“ IOC



Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.