Hall, Rinne, Hedman Highlight First-Time IHLC Winners At 2018 NHL Awards

The National Hockey League handed out its hardware to the best players in the world for the 2017-18 season in Las Vegas, with tenย IHLC holdersย representing fiveย countries taking home trophies.

Remarkably, there was not a single player winning multiple trophies this year, while a number of first-time winners highlighted the evening. Taylor Hall of the New Jersey Devils won the Hart Trophy as League MVP after his first season as a Devil, while top goaltender and defenceman honours were captured by first-time winners Pekka Rinne and Victor Hedman, respectively. The night’s big winners were the hometown Vegas Golden Knights, who saw top honours go to William Karlsson (Lady Byng), Deryk Engelland (Messier), Gerard Gallant (Jack Adams) and George McPhee (GM of the Year).

There were, however, repeat winners on the night, with Oilers captain Connor McDavid winning the Ted Lindsay Award as MVP voted by the players to pair with his Art Ross Trophy, and Alexander Ovechkin adding Rocket Richard and Conn Smythe Trophies to his newly won Stanley Cup. Anลพe Kopitar won his second Selke Trophy, the Sedin twins, Henrik and Daniel, were honoured with their final NHL awards (King Clancy), while the night was rounded off with wins for Mat Barzal (Calder) and Brian Boyle (Masterton). The night featured emotional tributes to survivors of the Las Vegas and Parkland shootings, as well as from the Humboldt Broncos bus crash.

The NHL Award winners and nominees for the 2017-18 season (with winners in bold and an asterisk denoting former IHLC holders) are as follows:

Hart Memorial Trophy (League MVP)
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Taylor Hall (Devils)*
๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ฎ Anลพeย Kopitar (Kings)
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Nathan MacKinnon (Avalanche)*

Vezina Trophy (Top Goaltender)
๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Connor Hellebuyck (Jets)
๐Ÿ‡ซ๐Ÿ‡ฎ Pekka Rinne (Predators)*
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Andrei Vasilevski (Lightning)*

James Norris Memorial Trophy (Top Defenceman)
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Drew Doughty (Kings)*
๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ช Victor Hedman (Lightning)*
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ P.K. Subban (Predators)*

Calder Memorial Trophy (Rookie Of The Year)
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Mathew Barzal (Islanders)*
๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Brock Boeser (Canucks)
๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Clayton Keller (Coyotes)*

Lady Byng Memorial Trophy (Most Gentlemanly Conduct)
๐Ÿ‡ซ๐Ÿ‡ฎ Alexander Barkov (Panthers)*
๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ช William Karlsson (Golden Knights)*
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Ryan O’Reilly (Sabres)*

Frank J. Selke Trophy (Top Defensive Forward)
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Patrice Bergeron (Bruins)*
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Sean Couturier (Flyers)*
๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ฎ Anลพeย Kopitar (Kings)

Jack Adams Award (Coach Of The Year)
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Jared Bednar (Avalanche)
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Bruce Cassidy (Bruins)
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Gerard Gallant (Golden Knights)*

Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy (Perseverance & Dedication)
๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Brian Boyle (Devils)
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Roberto Luongo (Panthers)*
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Jordan Staal (Hurricanes)*

Ted Lindsay Award (MVP Voted By Players)
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Taylor Hall (Devils)*
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Nathan MacKinnon (Avalanche)*
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Connor McDavid (Oilers)*

Mark Messier Leadership Award (Top Leader)
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Deryk Engelland (Golden Knights)
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Wayne Simmonds (Flyers)*
๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Blake Wheeler (Jets)*

General Manager Of The Year
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Kevin Cheveldayoff (Jets)
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ George McPhee (Golden Knights)*
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Steve Yzerman (Lightning)*

King Clancy Memorial Trophy (On & Off-Ice Leadership)
๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ช Daniel & Henrik Sedin (Canucks)*
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ P.K. Subban (Predators)*
๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Jason Zucker (Wild)*

A few trophiesย for the evening were already pre-determined, whether based purely on seasonal statistics, or in the case of the Conn Smythe Trophy, being awarded at the conclusion of the NHL playoffs.

Conn Smythe Trophy (Playoff MVP)
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Alexander Ovechkinย (Capitals)*

Art Ross Trophy (Most Points, Season)
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Connor McDavidย (Oilers)*

Rocket Richard Trophy (Most Goals, Season)
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Alexander Ovechkinย (Capitals)*

William M. Jennings Trophy (Least Goals Against, Season)
๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Jonathan Quickย (Kings)*

Photo Credit: Sportsnetย โ€“ IIHF โ€“ HHOF โ€“ IOC



Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.