KHL Hands Out 2018-19 Awards In Moscow

The KHL formally closed their tenth season tonight in Moscow with their annual Closing Ceremony, awarding the league’s top teams, players and executives for their performance this year, with Gagarin Cup winners CSKA Moscow drawing in the biggest haul, andย ten IHLC winners taking home trophies.

CSKA, fresh off their first Gagarin Cup title in history, saw awards go to Kirill Kaprizov (League MVP and Top Sniper), Alexander Popov (Gimayev Prize) and Ilya Sorokin (Playoff MVP), with Nikita Nesterov and Mikhail Grigorenko being awarded Golden Helmets as wellon the KHL All-Star Team. Team management Yegor Nikitin and Yegor Yesmantovich took home top Coach and General Manager honours as well. Other top winners included Nikita Gusev with the scoring title, Darren Dietz as top scoring defenceman, Juha Metsola as goaltender of the year, and Ilya Konovalov winning rookie of the year.

In a surprising turn of events, the KHL seemingly did away with a number of awards from 2018, including the Best Troika (Highest Scoring Line), Iron Man Award (Most Games Played), Gentleman On Ice (Sportsmanship) and Service To Hockey (Best Hockey Ambassador), while introducing the Gimayev Prize for Loyalty to Hockey, which saw CSKA’s Alexander Popov win the inaugural award. The league MVP title, known previously as the Golden Stick, is now the “Priceless Player” award due to a partnership with MasterCard.

The KHL Award Trophy winners for the 2018-19 season (with winners in bold and an asterisk denoting former IHLC holders) are as follows:

Priceless Player (League MVP)
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Kirill Kaprizov (CSKA)*

Top Scorer
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Nikita Gusev (SKA)*

Top Sniper (Most Goals)
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Kirill Kaprizov (CSKA)*

Top Scoring Defenceman
Darren Dietz

Goalie Of The Year
๐Ÿ‡ซ๐Ÿ‡ฎ Juha Metsola
(Ak Bars)*

Best Plus / Minus
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Vladislav Gavrikov (SKA)*

Alexei Cherepanov Award (Top Rookie)
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Ilya Konovalov (Lokomotiv)*

Gimayev Prize (Loyalty To Hockey)
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Alexander Popov (CSKA)*

Best Coach
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Yegor Nikitin (CSKA)

Valentin Sych Award (Best Manager)
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Yegor Yesmantovichย (CSKA)

Playoff MVP
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Ilya Sorokin (CSKA)*

WHL Player Of The Year (Best Female Player)
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Anna Prugova (Agidel)

Golden Helmet (KHL All-Star Team)
๐Ÿ‡ซ๐Ÿ‡ฎ Juha Metsola (Ak Bars)*
Nikita Nesterov (CSKA)*
๐Ÿ‡ฐ๐Ÿ‡ฟ Darren Dietz
Mikhail Grigorenko (CSKA)*
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Ilya Mikheyev
Teemu Hartikainen (Salavat Yulaev)*

Photo Credit: KHL Twitter โ€“ IIHF โ€“ HHOF โ€“ IOC


Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.