KHL Hands Out Truncated 2019-20 Awards

Despite being forced to cancel the remainder of the 2020 Gagarin Cup playoffs due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the Kontinental Hockey League today announced a handful of award winners based on the 2019-20 regular season.

Despite CSKA Moscow, SKA Saint Petersburg and Ak Bars Kazan finishing atop the overall league standings for the regular season, only two of these teams saw individual award winners, with Kirill Kaprizov of CSKA taking home Top Goal Scorer, while Timur Bilyalov and Artyom Galimov took home Top Goalie and Top Rookie for Ak Bars, respectively. Arguably the biggest winners were Dynamo Moscow, who saw Dmitrij Jaลกkin and Vadim Shipachyov take home League MVP and Top Scorer, respectively, while the pair also won “Top Troika” for top scoring line along with Andrรฉ Petersson.

Other winners included Juha Metsola of Salavat Yulaev, voted as MVP by the fans in an online poll, as well as fellow countryman Mikko Lehtonen of Jokerit taking home Top Scoring Defender. Alexander Syomin of HC Vityaz was given the Sergei Gimayev Prize for loyalty to hockey, annually awarded to the top league veteran player or coach. A total of four countries were represented in these awards, with Russia obviously taking the lead with six winners, followed by two awards each for Czechia (both to Jaลกkin) and Finland (Metsola and Lehtonen), while Petersson pulled in Sweden’s only win of the evening.

The KHL Award Trophy winners for the 2019-20 season (with winners in bold and an asterisk denoting former IHLC holders) are as follows:

Golden Stick (League MVP)
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ Dmitrij Jaลกkin (Dynamo)*

Priceless Player (MVP Voted By Fans)
๐Ÿ‡ซ๐Ÿ‡ฎ Juha Metsola (Salavat Yulaev)*

Top Scorer
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Vadim Shipachyov (Dynamo)*

Top Goal Scorer
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Kirill Kaprizov (CSKA)*

Top Scoring Defenceman
๐Ÿ‡ซ๐Ÿ‡ฎ Mikko Lehtonen

Best Goalie
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Timur Bilyalov
(Ak Bars)

Alexei Cherepanov Award (Top Rookie)
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Artyom Galimov (Ak Bars)

Top Troika (Highest Scoring Offensive Line)
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟย Dmitrij Jaลกkin (Dynamo)*
๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ช Andrรฉ Petersson (Dynamo)*
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Vadim Shipachyov (Dynamo)*

Gimayev Prize (Loyalty To Hockey)
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Alexander Syomin (Vityaz)*

Viktor Tikhonov Continental Cup (Top Regular Season Team)
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ CSKA Moscow

Photo Credit: KHLย โ€“ IIHF โ€“ HHOF โ€“ IOC


Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.