2022 KHL Awards Ceremony Held In Moscow

The Kontinental Hockey League formally wrapped their fourteenth season tonight in Moscow with their annual Closing Ceremony, awarding the league’s top teams, players and executives for their performance this year, with Gagarin Cup champions CSKA Moscow coming away as the big winners, and ten IHLC winners taking home trophies.

With all players in attendance due to Russia’s ban from the World Championships over the Russian invasion of Ukraine, the vast majority of winners were native Russians, with Vadim Shipachyov taking league MVP and points honours, as well as being named to the league’s All-Star Team. CSKA captured a total of six trophies, including Ivan Fedotov (Top Goaltender & KHL All-Star Team), Nikita Nesterov (KHL All-Star Team), Sergei Fyodorov (Best Coach), Igor Yesmantovich (Best Director) and Alexander Popov (Playoff MVP). The only non-Russians to win were Finland’s Niko Ojamรคki (Most Goals), Belarus’ Nick Bailen (Top Scoring Defenceman), and the Best Troika of Barys Nur-Sultan, made up of Sweden’s Jakob Lilja and Kazakhstan’s Nikita Mikhailis and Curtis Valk.

The KHL Award Trophy winners for the 2021-22 season (with winners in bold and an asterisk denoting former IHLC holders) are as follows:

Golden Stick (League MVP)
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Anton Burdasov (SKA)*
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Andrei Kuzmenko (SKA)*
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Vadim Shipachyov (Dynamo)*

Top Scorer (Most Points)
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Vadim Shipachyov (Dynamo)*

Top Sniper (Most Goals)
๐Ÿ‡ซ๐Ÿ‡ฎ Niko Ojamรคki (Vityaz)

Top Scoring Defenceman
๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡พ Nick Bailen (Traktor)

Best Troika (Top Scoring Line)
๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ช Jakob Lilja (Barys)*
๐Ÿ‡ฐ๐Ÿ‡ฟ Nikita Mikhailis (Barys)
๐Ÿ‡ฐ๐Ÿ‡ฟ Curtis Valk (Barys)

Top Goaltender
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Ivan Fedotov (CSKA)*

๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ช Lars Johansson (SKA)*
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Vasili Koshechkin (Metallurg)*

Best Plus / Minus
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Artyom Minulin (Metallurg)

Iron Man Award
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Pavel Dedunov (Avangard)

Alexei Cherepanov Award (Top Rookie)
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Arseni Gritsyuk (Avangard)*

๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Marat Khusnutdinov (SKA)*
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Dmitri Rashevski (Dynamo)

Gimayev Prize (Loyalty To Hockey)
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Alexander Popov (CSKA)*
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Alexander Yeryomenko (Dynamo)*
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Danis Zaripov (Ak Bars)*

Best Coach
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Sergei Fyodorov (CSKA)*

Best Director
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Igor Yesmantovich (CSKA)

Playoff MVP
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Alexander Popov (CSKA)*

Golden Helmet (KHL All-Star Team)
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Ivan Fedotov (CSKA)*
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Nikita Nesterov (CSKA)*
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Yegor Yakovlev (Metallurg)*
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Andrei Kuzmenko (SKA)*
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Vadim Shipachyov (Dynamo)*
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Nikolai Goldobin (Metallurg)

Photo Credit: KHL Twitter โ€“ IIHF โ€“ HHOF โ€“ IOC



Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.