Matthews, Makar Highlight 2022 NHL Awards

The National Hockey League completed its awards distribution for the 2021-22 season with the conclusion of the Stanley Cup Finals, with thirteenย IHLC holders representing seven countries taking home trophies handed out over the past month.

With the Conn Smythe Trophy going to Cale Makar, the fifteenth and final NHL award was given out, after all other trophies were awarded starting with the Stanley Cup Conference Finals, with the winners for the Calder, Norris, Vezina, Lindsay and Hart named on 21 June during the Finals at a ceremony in Tampa. Makar, who won the Norris at the ceremony and the Conn Smythe five days later, becomes only the third defender to win both trophies in the same season, after Bobby Orr and Nicklas Lidstrรถm.

After his historic sixty goal season, Auston Matthews was the night’s biggest winner, taking home the Hart, Lindsay and Rocket Richard trophies, his first Hart and Lindsay wins, becoming the first Maple Leaf to win league MVP since 1955, the second American to ever win the Hart (after Patrick Kane in 2016), and just the second player to win that particular trio in one season, with Alexander Ovechkin doing it first in both 2008 and 2009.

Four winners repeated in 2022, with Connor McDavid winning his fourth Art Ross Trophy, Matthews winning his second straight Rocket Richard Trophy, Patrice Bergeron winning his record fifth Selke Trophy, and Frederik Andersen won his second Jennings Trophy alongside teammate Antti Raanta. Five winners (Kopitar, Makar, Matthews, Price, Subban) won their first trophies in their respective categories, while another five (Connor, Raanta, Seider, Shestyorkin, Sutter) won their first individual trophies of any kind in the NHL.

The NHL Award winners and nominees for the 2021-22 season (with winners in bold and an asterisk denoting former IHLC holders) are as follows:

Hart Memorial Trophy (League MVP)
๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Auston Matthews (Maple Leafs)*
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Connor McDavid (Oilers)*
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Igor Shestyorkin (Rangers)*

Ted Lindsay Award (MVP Voted By Players)
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ญ Roman Josi (Predators)*
๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Auston Matthews (Maple Leafs)*
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Connor McDavid (Oilers)*

Vezina Trophy (Top Goaltender)
๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ช Jacob Markstrom (Flames)*
๐Ÿ‡ซ๐Ÿ‡ฎ Juuse Saros (Predators)*
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Igor Shestyorkin (Rangers)*

James Norris Memorial Trophy (Top Defenceman)
๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ช Victor Hedman (Lightning)*
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ญ Roman Josi (Predators)*
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Cale Makar (Avalanche)*

Calder Memorial Trophy (Rookie Of The Year)
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Michael Bunting (Maple Leafs)*
๐Ÿ‡ฉ๐Ÿ‡ช Moritz Seider (Red Wings)
๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Trevor Zegras (Ducks)*

Mark Messier Leadership Award (Top Leader)
๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ฎ Anลพe Kopitar (Kings)

Lady Byng Memorial Trophy (Most Gentlemanly Conduct)
๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Kyle Connor (Jets)*
๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Jaccob Slavin (Hurricanes)
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Jared Spurgeon (Wild)

Frank J. Selke Trophy (Top Defensive Forward)
๐Ÿ‡ซ๐Ÿ‡ฎ Alexander Barkov (Panthers)*
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Patrice Bergeron (Bruins)*
๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ช Elias Lindholm (Flames)*

Jack Adams Award (Coach Of The Year)
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Andrew Brunette (Panthers)
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Gerard Gallant (Rangers)*
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Darryl Sutter (Flames)

Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy (Perseverance & Dedication)
๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ฐ Zdeno Chรกra (Islanders)*
๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Kevin Hayes (Flyers)
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Carey Price (Canadiens)*

King Clancy Memorial Trophy (On & Off-Ice Leadership)
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Ryan Getzlaf (Ducks)*
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Darnell Nurse (Oilers)*
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ P.K. Subban (Devils)*

A few trophies for the evening were already pre-determined, whether based purely on seasonal statistics, or in the case of the Conn Smythe Trophy, being awarded at the conclusion of the Stanley Cup Final.

Conn Smythe Trophy (Playoff MVP)
Cale Makar (Avalanche)*

Art Ross Trophy (Most Points, Season)
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Connor McDavidย (Oilers)*

Rocket Richard Trophy (Most Goals, Season)
๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Auston Matthews (Maple Leafs)*

William M. Jennings Trophy (Least Goals Against, Season)
๐Ÿ‡ฉ๐Ÿ‡ฐ Frederik Andersen (Hurricanes)*
๐Ÿ‡ซ๐Ÿ‡ฎ Antti Raantaย (Hurricanes)

Photo Credit: NHLย โ€“ IIHF โ€“ HHOF โ€“ IOC



Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.