๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ IIHF Names Brampton As 2023 Women’s World Championship Host

Today the International Ice Hockey Federation confirmed that the Canadian city to host the 2023 Women’s World Championships would be the Toronto-area suburb of Brampton, Ontario, running from 05-16 April 2023.

Canada, which will host the tournament for the tenth time, and for the third time in four years, will return to the Toronto area for the first time since 2000, with nearby Mississauga hosting Canada’s sixth straight World Championship victory. Team Canada, who are now defending World Champions, will look to “three-peat” for the first time since winning the first eight straight World Championships between 1990 and 2004.

Canada will be hosting perennial rivals the United States, Switzerland, Japan and Czechia in Group A of the tournament, while Group B will be made up of Finland, Sweden, Germany, Hungary and newly-promoted France, with all games to be hosted at the CAA Centre, which has formerly hosted one IHLC matchup,ย which saw Canada defeating Team USA 6-1 at the 1999 TSN Challenge.

The tournament schedule will be announced next month, while future hosts (with Canada likely not to host again until at least 2025) potentially to be announced at the next IIHF Congress in May.

Photo Credit: CAA Centre โ€“ IIHF โ€“ HHOF โ€“ IOC



Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.