๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ CSKA Moscow Captures Second Consecutive Gagarin Cup

Following a near collapse at the hands of Ak Bars Kazan after a 3-1 series lead, CSKA Moscow captured their second straight Gagarin Cup in Moscow, upending the Leopards 3-2 in the finals.

After completing their own 3-1 comeback in last year’s final against Metallurg Magnitogorsk, CSKA dropped Games Five and Six by 2-1 and 3-0 scores, forcing a decisive Game Seven in Moscow. CSKA was looking to avoid what they inflicted on Metallurg the previous year, while Ak Bars was looking to make history of their own in enemy territory. It was a tight affair throughout, with Ak Bars opening the scoring on a Kirill Petrov goal just as the first period was ending. However, Anton Slepyshev answered back 15 seconds into the second period, evening things at 1-1.

Kazan would retake the lead at 27:16 with a Dmitri Voronkov goal, but the Red Army would again even things up quickly, with Vladislav Kamenev needing just under three minutes to even the score. But it was Darren Dietz, just 76 seconds later, with a blast from the point that beat Timur Bilyalov through a screen from the point, that would set the score at 3-2. The Muscovites, and goaltender Adam Reideborn in particular, would shut the game down for the entire second half, locking out the Leopards and capturing their third Gagarin Cup in team history, following wins in both 2019 and last year.

Our congratulations go out to the players, management and fans of CSKA Moscow, with those on the roster that have also held the IHLC highlighted in bold:

๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Vitali Abramov, forward
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Vladimir Bryukvin, forward
๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ช Fredrik Claesson, defence
๐Ÿ‡ฐ๐Ÿ‡ฟ Darren Dietz, defence
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Vasili Dronyk, forward
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Yaroslav Dyblenko, defence
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Sergei Fyodorov, head coach
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Mikhail Grigorenko, forward
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Vladimir Grudinin, defence
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Matvei Guskov, forward
๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ฐ Christiรกn Jaroลก, defence
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Roman Kalinichenko, defence
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Vladislav Kamenev, forward
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Pavel Karnaukhov, forward
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Igor Kravchuk, assistant coach
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Nikolai Makarov, defence
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Maxim Mamin, forward
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Takhir Mingachyov, forward
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Nikita Nesterov, defence
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Konstanin Okulov, forward
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Semyon Pankratov, forward
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Sergei Plotnikov, forward
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Prokhor Poltapov, forward
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Vladislav Provolnev, defence
๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ช Adam Reideborn, goaltender
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Artyom Sergeyev, defence
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Alexander Sharychenkov, goaltender
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Vsevolod Skotnikov, goaltender
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Anton Slepyshev, forward
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บย Maxim Sorkin, forward
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Andrei Svetlakov, forward
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Ravil Yakubov, assistant coach
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Igor Yesmantovich, general manager
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Danil Yurtaikin, forward

Photo Credit: GazetaIIHFHHOFIOC



Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.