Blackhawks Led To Stanley Cup By IHLC Champions

In an era where hockey dynasties were considered extinct thanks to the salary cap, the Chicago Blackhawks defied the odds, winning their third Stanley Cup in six seasons from the Tampa Bay Lightning in six games.

In a gritty, fluid and evenly-matched tilt, the Lightning and Blackhawks each pushed each other to the max, with tight games, sharp goaltending and two-way defense making the difference. Each game was won by a lone goal, with the Blackhawks finally winning two straight to win to take the title.

It took goals from playoff MVP Duncan Keith and from sharpshooter Patrick Kane to capture the title, with Keith’s rebound goal off a Kane feed in the second period being the game winning goal. Corey Crawford shone in net for the Blackhawks, earning the shutout over his counterpart, Ben Bishop, who endured a brutal final with multiple injuries, but still was still red-hot in goal.

The Blackhawks, able to win the Cup on home ice for the first time since 1938, boast ten players from four countries that have held the International Hockey Lineal Championship, including captain Jonathan Toews, and assistant captains Keith and Patrick Sharp.

Our congratulations go out to the players, management and fans of the Chicago Blackhawks, with those on the roster that have also held the IHLC highlighted in bold:

🇨🇦 Bryan Bickell, forward
🇨🇦 Scotty Bowman, senior advisor
🇺🇸 Stan Bowman, general manager
🇨🇦 Daniel Carcillo, forward
🇨🇦 Corey Crawford, goaltender
🇨🇦 Kyle Cumiskey, defence
🇺🇸 Scott Darling, goaltender
🇨🇦 Andrew Desjardins, forward
🇨🇦 Kevin Dineen, assistant coach
🇨🇦 Pierre Gauthier, director
🇸🇪 Niklas Hjalmarsson, defence
🇸🇰 Marián Hossa, forward
🇺🇸 Patrick Kane, forward
🇨🇦 Duncan Keith, defence
🇨🇦 Mike Kitchen, assistant coach
🇸🇪 Marcus Krüger, forward
🇨🇦 Al MacIsaac, vice president
🇨🇦 Norm Maciver, assistant GM
🇸🇪 Joakim Nordström, forward
🇸🇪 Johnny Oduya, defence
🇨🇦 Joel Quenneville, head coach
🇨🇦 Brad Richards, forward
🇨🇿 Michal Rozsíval, defence
🇸🇪 David Rundblad, defence
🇺🇸 Brandon Saad, forward
🇨🇦 Brent Seabrook, defence
🇨🇦 Patrick Sharp, forward
🇨🇦 Andrew Shaw, forward
🇺🇸 Barry Smith, director
🇫🇮 Teuvo Teräväinen, forward
🇫🇮 Kimmo Timonen, defence
🇨🇦 Jonathan Toews, forward
🇺🇸 Trevor van Riemsdyk, defence
🇨🇦 Antoine Vermette, forward
🇨🇦 Kris Versteeg, forward

Photo Credit: NHL – IIHF – HHOF – IOC


Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.