IHLC Preview – 2015 Four Nations Cup

For the 20th season, the top four nations in women’s hockey will face off in Sundsvall, Sweden, when Canada, the United States, Sweden and Finland face off in the Four Nations Cup.

As with last year (and seventeen of 19 instances in the tournament’s history), Canada and the U.S. are the likely frontrunners – however, a number of key starters from the American’s World Championship-winning roster, as well as from Canada’s squad, are not participating, opening up the tournament to younger players. This could give either the Finns or Swedes, in particular apt for them being on home ice, to play spoiler – even in a pre-tournament exhibition game, Sweden held Canada to just a 3-1 score, meaning perhaps they will surprise when the tournament begins.

The Americans will look to continue their dominance from April’s World Championships, also in Sweden, where they cruised through the Preliminary Round and offed Canada for their sixth Worlds Gold, and fifth in the last six tournaments. Canada, who did not have a win against the U.S. since last year’s Four Nations Cup on home ice, will look to regain momentum against their bitter foes, and regain theย International Hockey Lineal Championship in the process. The Americans will be keen to capture just their sixth Four Nations Cup Gold this year, to ensure they enter next year’s Worlds, on Canadian soil, on fire and ready to reign once again.

For the complete schedule of the Four Nations Cup, click here.

Photo Credit:ย Canada.comย โ€“ย IIHFย โ€“ย HHOFย โ€“ย IOC



Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.