2016 NHL All Star Game Rosters Announced

After a major overhaul to the All Star Game format, the National Hockey League today announced the 11-man rosters for all four divisions to parttake in the 2016 NHL All-Star Game, made up of a 3-on-3 tournament in Nashville on 31 January.

Ditching the “fantasy draft” format in favour of the fast-paced new overtime rule, the top stars from each division will face off to determine the top division in the NHL. The winner of the East Division (Atlantic and Metropolitan) and West Division (Central and Pacific) will meet in a final game, with bragging rights and a $1 million prize on the line. A fan vote determined the team captain for each division, with the NHL selecting the remaining players, with a minimum one player from each team represented.

From the perspective of the IHLC, there are players from seven different countries playing in the game, 28 of whom have held the IHLC at least once in their careers, including seven Canadian players that won World Championship Gold (Burns, Duchene, Ekblad, Giroux, Hall, O’Reilly and Seguin) last year in Prague. The Central Division team leads with nine of their eleven players (all but captain Kane and Dustin Byfuglien) being former IHLC champions.

๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Ben Bishop (Lightning) ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Braden Holtby (Capitals)
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Roberto Luongo*ย (Panthers) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Corey Schneider (Devils)
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Aaron Ekblad* (Panthers) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Justin Faulk*ย (Hurricanes)
๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ช Erik Karlsson (Senators) ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Kris Letang (Penguins)
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ P.K. Subban*ย (Canadiens) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Ryan McDonagh (Rangers)
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Patrice Bergeron*ย (Bruins) ๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ช Nicklas Bรคckstrรถm (Capitals)
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ Jaromรญr Jรกgr*ย (Panthers) ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Claude Giroux*ย (Flyers)
๐Ÿ‡ซ๐Ÿ‡ฎ Leo Komarov* (Maple Leafs) ๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Yevgeni Malkin* (Penguins)
๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Dylanย Larkin (Red Wings) ๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Alexander Ovechkin*ย (Capitals)
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Yevgeni Kuznetsov* (Capitals)
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Ryan O’Reilly* (Sabres) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Brandon Saad (Blue Jackets)
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Steven Stamkos*ย (Lightning) ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ John Tavares*ย (Islanders)
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Devan Dubnyk* (Wild) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Johnย Gibsonย (Ducks)
๐Ÿ‡ซ๐Ÿ‡ฎ Pekka Rinne* (Predators) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Jonathan Quickย (Kings)
๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Dustin Byfuglien (Jets) ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Brent Burns*ย (Sharks)
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ญ Roman Josi* (Predators) ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Drew Doughty*ย (Kings)
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Shea Weber*ย (Predators) ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Mark Giordano* (Flames)
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Jamie Benn*ย (Stars) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Johnny Gaudreauย (Flames)
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Matt Duchene* (Avalanche) ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Taylor Hall*ย (Oilers)
๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Patrick Kaneย (Blackhawks) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Joe Pavelskiย (Sharks)
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Tyler Seguin*ย (Stars) ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Corey Perry* (Ducks)
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Vladimir Tarasenko*ย (Blues) ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ John Scottย (Coyotes1)
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆย Jonathan Toews*ย (Blackhawks)
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ James Neal* (Predators)
๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ช Daniel Sedin* (Canucks)

Bold denotes team captain. A star (*)ย denotes players that have held the International Hockey Lineal Championship at least once. A strikethrough (example) through the player’s name denotes the player is injured and will be unable to play, replacements are listed below original selection.

1 Despite being traded to the Montrรฉal Canadiens, the NHL has confirmed that Scott will remain as captain for the Pacific Division, and the Coyotes’ representative.

Photo Credit: League It To Usย โ€“ IIHF โ€“ HHOF โ€“ IOC



Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.