2017 NHL All Star Game Rosters Announced

Looking to repeat the magic of the 2015 midseason classic in Nashville, today the National Hockey League announced the 11-man rosters for all four divisions in the 2017 NHL All-Star Game 3-on-3 tournament, taking place in Los Angeles on 29 January.

UPDATED: Unlike in 2016, this year the winning division of the skills competiton will be allowed to select their opponent in the Semifinal, changing from the Eastern (Atlantic vs. Metropolitan) and Western (Central vs. Pacific) winners meeting in the final. But like last year, a fan vote named the captain for each division, with the league assigning the remaining spots, ensuring that each team has at least one player partaking.

Also different from last year is disallowing write-in votes for team captain, to avoid the initial public relations fiasco of John Scott from 2016, despite the happy ending of the game, with him captaining the Pacific to victory and being named game MVP.

From the perspective of the IHLC, there are players from seven different countries playing in the game, 34 of whom have held the IHLC at least once in their careers, including ten players that won this year’s World Cup Of Hockey in Toronto, along with three players (Hall, Marchand and McDavid) that won World Championship Gold this past May in Russia. The Central Division team leads with 10 of 11 players being former IHLC champions, Vladimir Tarasenko being the only exception.

🇨🇦 Carey Price(Canadiens) 🇷🇺 Sergei Bobrovski* (Blue Jackets)
🇫🇮 Tuukka Rask* (Bruins) 🇨🇦 Braden Holtby* (Capitals)
🇸🇪 Victor Hedman* (Lightning) 🇺🇸 Justin Faulk* (Hurricanes)
🇸🇪 Erik Karlsson (Senators) 🇺🇸 Seth Jones (Blue Jackets)
🇨🇦 Shea Weber* (Canadiens) 🇺🇸 Ryan McDonagh* (Rangers)
🇷🇺 Nikita Kucherov (Lightning) 🇨🇦 Sidney Crosby* (Penguins)
🇨🇦 Brad Marchand* (Bruins) 🇨🇦 Taylor Hall* (Devils)
🇺🇸 Auston Matthews (Maple Leafs) 🇷🇺 Yevgeni Malkin* (Penguins)
🇺🇸 Cam Atkinson* (Blue Jackets)
🇩🇰 Frans Nielsen (Red Wings) 🇷🇺 Alexander Ovechkin* (Capitals)
🇺🇸 Kyle Okposo* (Sabres) 🇨🇦 Wayne Simmonds (Flyers)
🇺🇸 Vincent Trocheck (Panthers) 🇨🇦 John Tavares* (Islanders)
🇨🇦 Corey Crawford* (Blackhawks)
🇨🇦 Martin Jones* (Sharks)
🇨🇦 Devan Dubnyk* (Wild) 🇨🇦 Mike Smith* (Coyotes)
🇨🇦 Duncan Keith* (Blackhawks) 🇨🇦 Brent Burns* (Sharks)
🇨🇦 P.K. Subban(Predators) 🇨🇦 Drew Doughty* (Kings)
🇺🇸 Ryan Suter* (Wild) 🇺🇸 Cam Fowler* (Ducks)
🇺🇸 Patrick Kane* (Blackhawks)
🇨🇦 Jeff Carter* (Kings)
🇫🇮 Patrik Laine* (Jets) 🇺🇸 Johnny Gaudreau (Flames)
🇨🇦 Nathan MacKinnon* (Avalanche) 🇨🇦 Bo Horvat (Canucks)
🇨🇦 Tyler Seguin* (Stars) 🇺🇸 Ryan Kesler* (Ducks)
🇷🇺 Vladimir Tarasenko (Blues) 🇨🇦 Connor McDavid* (Oilers)
🇨🇦 Jonathan Toews* (Blackhawks) 🇺🇸 Joe Pavelski* (Sharks)

Bold denotes team captain. A star (*) denotes players that have held the International Hockey Lineal Championship at least once. A strikethrough (example) through the player’s name denotes the player is injured and will be unable to play, replacements are listed below original selection.

Photo Credit: Sporting News – IIHFHHOFIOC


Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.