Nikita Kucherov Highlights Winners At 2019 NHL Awards

The National Hockey League handed out its hardware to the best players in the world for the 2018-19 season in Las Vegas, with elevenย IHLC holders representing sixย countries taking home trophies.

Kucherov, coming off a record 128-point season, took home the Hart, Ted Lindsay and Art Ross Trophies as League MVP, MVP Voted By Players and Top Scorer, respectively, becoming the first Lightning player since Martin St-Louis to win the League’s MVP. Kucherov’s teammate and fellow countryman Andrei Vasilevski took home the Vezina Trophy as Top Goaltender, with the Lightning’s only loss coming to coach Jon Cooper, who lost out on the Jack Adams Award to Barry Trotz of the New York Islanders.

Every other award winner, short of perennial Rocket Richard Award winner Alex Ovechkin, captured their trophies for the first time, including Mark Giordano (Norris), Elias Petterson (Calder), Alexander Barkov (Lady Byng), Ryan O’Reilly (Selke and Conn Smythe), Robin Lehner (Jennings and Masterton), Thomas Greiss (Jennings), Wayne Simmonds (Messier), Don Sweeney (GM) and Jason Zucker (Clancy).

The NHL Award winners and nominees for the 2018-19 season (with winners in bold and an asterisk denoting former IHLC holders) are as follows:

Hart Memorial Trophy (League MVP)
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Sidney Crosby (Penguins)*
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Nikita Kucherov (Lightning)
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Connor McDavid (Oilers)*

Vezina Trophy (Top Goaltender)
๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Ben Bishop (Stars)*
๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ช Robin Lehner (Islanders)*
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Andrei Vasilevski (Lightning)*

James Norris Memorial Trophy (Top Defenceman)
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Brent Burns (Sharks)*
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Mark Giordano (Flames)*
๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ช Victor Hedman (Lightning)*

Calder Memorial Trophy (Rookie Of The Year)
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Jordan Binnington (Blues)
๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ช Rasmus Dahlin (Sabres)*
๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ช Elias Pettersson (Canucks)*

Lady Byng Memorial Trophy (Most Gentlemanly Conduct)
๐Ÿ‡ซ๐Ÿ‡ฎ Alexander Barkov (Panthers)*
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Sean Monahan (Flames)*
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Ryan O’Reilly (Blues)*

Frank J. Selke Trophy (Top Defensive Forward)
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Patrice Bergeron (Bruins)*
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Ryan O’Reilly (Blues)*
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Mark Stone (Golden Knights)*

Jack Adams Award (Coach Of The Year)
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Craig Berube (Blues)
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Jon Cooper (Lightning)*
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Barry Trotz (Islanders)*

Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy (Perseverance & Dedication)
๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Nick Foligno (Blue Jackets)
๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ช Robin Lehner (Islanders)*
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Joe Thornton (Sharks)*

Ted Lindsay Award (MVP Voted By Players)
๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Patrick Kane (Blackhawks)*
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Nikita Kucherov (Lightning)
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Connor McDavid (Oilers)*

Mark Messier Leadership Award (Top Leader)
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Mark Giordano (Flames)*
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Wayne Simmonds (Predators)*
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Justin Williams (Hurricanes)*

General Manager Of The Year
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Doug Armstrong (Blues)*
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Don Sweeney (Bruins)*
๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Don Waddell (Hurricanes)*

King Clancy Memorial Trophy (On & Off-Ice Leadership)
๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ช Oliver Ekman-Larsson (Coyotes)*
๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ช Henrik Lundqvist (Rangers)*
๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Jason Zucker (Wild)*

A few trophiesย for the evening were already pre-determined, whether based purely on seasonal statistics, or in the case of the Conn Smythe Trophy, being awarded at the conclusion of the NHL playoffs.

Conn Smythe Trophy (Playoff MVP)
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Ryan O’Reilly (Blues)*

Art Ross Trophy (Most Points, Season)
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Nikita Kucherovย (Lightning)

Rocket Richard Trophy (Most Goals, Season)
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Alexander Ovechkinย (Capitals)*

William M. Jennings Trophy (Least Goals Against, Season)
๐Ÿ‡ฉ๐Ÿ‡ช Thomas Greissย (Islanders)
๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ช Robin Lehner

Photo Credit: Def Pen Sportsย โ€“ IIHF โ€“ HHOF โ€“ IOC



Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.