๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Datsyuk, Shipachyov Come Away As Big Winners At 2021 KHL Awards

After successfully completing their first full season since 2019, the Kontinental Hockey League today honoured the best players of the 2020-21 season, handing out their annual awards at a gala event in Moscow, Russia.

The major winners of the evening were the aforementioned Triple Gold Club member Datsyuk, who captured both top honours as MVP Voted by Fans and the Loyalty Hockey Award, and Shipachyov, who won League MVP and was named to the “Team Of The Season,” along with winning Top Scorer honours. Shipachyov’s teammate Dmitrij Jaลกkin won Top Scorer and was also named to the Team Of The Season, while the Gagarin Cup Champions, Avangard Omsk, saw trophies for defender Oliwer Kaski (named to the Team Of The Season), bench boss Bob Hartley winning Coach Of The Year, and for Top Rookie Yegor Chinakhov.

Other winners included Lokomotiv’s Eddie Pasquale winning Top Goaltender, while Salavat Yulaev’s Finnish trio of Teemu Hartikainen, Markus Granlund and Sakari Manninen took home Top Troika as the top scoring offensive line. The scoring trophies were rounded out by Americans Chris Wideman of Torpedo (Top Scoring Defender) and Brian O’Neill of Jokerit (Best Plus Minus), while the Team Of The Season was completed with Pasquale, Hartikainen and Mat Robinson of CSKA. The evening’s winners spanned five countries out of a possible seven (with only Lars Johansson of Sweden and Igor Nikitin of Kazakhstan being shut out), with six Russians, three Finns, two Americans, two Canadians and one Czech bringing home hardware.

The KHL Award Trophy winners for the 2020-21 season (with winners in bold and an asterisk denoting former IHLC holders) are as follows:

Golden Stick (League MVP)
๐Ÿ‡ซ๐Ÿ‡ฎ Teemu Hartikainen (Salavat Yulaev)*
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Vadim Shipachyov (Dynamo)*
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Damir Zhafyarov (Torpedo)*

Priceless Player (MVP Voted By Fans)
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Pavel Datsyuk (Avtomobilist)*

Top Goaltender
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Timur Bilyalov (Ak Bars)
๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ช Lars Johansson (CSKA)*
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Edward Pasquale (Lokomotiv)

Alexei Cherepanov Award (Top Rookie)
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Zakhar Bardakov (Vityaz)*
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Yegor Chinakhov (Avangard)*
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Maxim Sorkin (CSKA)*

Top Troika (Highest Scoring Offensive Line)
๐Ÿ‡ซ๐Ÿ‡ฎ Markus Granlund (Salavat Yulaev)*
๐Ÿ‡ซ๐Ÿ‡ฎ Teemu Hartikainen (Salavat Yulaev)*
๐Ÿ‡ซ๐Ÿ‡ฎ Sakari Manninen (Salavat Yulaev)*

Coach Of The Year
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Bob Hartley (Avangard)
๐Ÿ‡ฐ๐Ÿ‡ฟ Igor Nikitin (CSKA)*
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Andrei Razin (Severstal)*

Sergei Gimayev Prize (Loyalty To Hockey)
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Pavel Datsyuk (Avtomobilist)*

Golden Helmet (Team Of The Season)
๐Ÿ‡ซ๐Ÿ‡ฎ Teemu Hartikainen (Salavat Yulaev)*
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ Dmitrij Jaลกkin (Dynamo)*
๐Ÿ‡ซ๐Ÿ‡ฎ Oliwer Kaski (Avangard)*
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Edward Pasquale (Lokomotiv)
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Mat Robinson (CSKA)*
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Vadim Shipachyov (Dynamo)*

A few trophies for the evening were already pre-determined, whether based purely on seasonal statistics, or being awarded at the conclusion of the Gagarin Cup playoffs.

Gagarin Cup Playoffs MVP
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Sergei Tolchinski (Avangard)*

Top Scorer
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Vadim Shipachyov (Dynamo)*

Top Goal Scorer
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ Dmitrij Jaลกkin (Dynamo)*

Top Scoring Defenceman
๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Chris Wideman (Torpedo)

Best Plus Minus
๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Brian O’Neill (Jokerit)

Photo Credit: KHLย โ€“ IIHF โ€“ HHOF โ€“ IOC


Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.