๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Boston Pride Capture Second Consecutive Isobel Cup

After an improbable season, marred once again by COVID delays, the Boston Pride improbably escaped the quarterfinals, upset the Toronto Six 5-1 in the semifinals, and tonight notched a come from behind victory over the PHF’s top seed, the Connecticut Whale, winning the Isobel Cup Final 4-2 to win their second straight, and third overall, Cup title.

Unlike last year’s aborted bubble playoffs in Lake Placid, New York, these playoffs were all held within three days in Wesley Chapel, Florida. After thumping Buffalo 6-0 on 25 March, the Pride upset the Six 5-1 on 27 March, setting up the final with the #1 seed Whale. The Whale, in their first Isobel Cup final in their six years of existence, took on the Pride, winners of both the inaugural Cup in 2016 and the most recent Cup in 2021.

Despite Boston taking the early lead on a Jillian Dempsey goal, Connecticut responded with goals from Amanda Conway and Taylor Girard, while Abbie Ives shut the door on the Pride for two periods, taking a 2-1 lead into the final period. But it was a pair of tallies from Evelina Raselli and Taylor Wenczkowski, just 18 seconds apart, that stunned the Whale and suddenly propelled Boston into the lead, which they would secure for good on a Jenna Rheault empty netter with 90 seconds remaining, ensuring they would remain as PHF champions for another year.

Our congratulations go out to the players, management and fans of the Boston Pride, with those on the roster that have also held the IHLC highlighted in bold:

๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Delaney Belinskas, forward
๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Amanda Boulier, defence
๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ McKenna Brand, forward
๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Katie Burt, goaltender
๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Paige Capistran, defence
๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Sammy Davis, forward
๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Jillian Dempsey, forward
๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Kali Flanagan, defence
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Kaleigh Fratkin, defence
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Kayla Friesen, forward
๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Victoria Hanson, goaltender
๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Lauren Kelly, defence
๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Paul Mara, head coach
๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Johnny McInnis, assistant coach
๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Meghara McManus, forward
๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Mary Parker, forward
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Christina Putigna, forward
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ญ Evelina Raselli, forward
๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Jenna Rheault, defence
๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Meaghan Rickard, forward
๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Katelynn Russ, forward
๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ช Lovisa Selander, goaltender
๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Mallory Souliotis, defence
๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Tori Sullivan, defence
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ Tereza Vaniลกovรก, forward
๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Taylor Wenczkowski, forward

Photo Credit: Tampa Bay TimesIIHFHHOFIOC



Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.