๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Boston Pride Capture 2021 Isobel Cup In Home-Ice Bubble

Despite entering the delayed NWHL playoffs as the fourth and final seed, the Boston Pride used unique pandemic circumstances to capitalize on home ice and capture their second Isobel Cup Saturday night, defeating the Minnesota Whitecaps in Boston to win the NWHL championship.

The 2020-21 NWHL season was set to be contained in a bubble in Lake Placid, New York from 23 January to 05 February, with a round robin tournament to set the playoffs; however, individual teams began to drop out of the bubble in rapid fashion, forcing the league to suspend the season on 03 February, the day before the playoffs were set to begin.

On March 8, the league announced the playoffs would be held over two days at the Warrior Ice Arena in Boston to wrap up the season, but the season was further thrown into doubt when NWHL founder and board member Dani Rylan announced her departure from the league on 16 March .

A “rematch” of sorts was set to crown the Isobel Cup winner between Minnesota and Boston, which was to be the 2020 Isobel Cup Final before that game, scheduled for 13 March, 2020, was suspended in the early days of the pandemic. Boston easily dispatched the Toronto Six, while Minnesota shut out the Connecticut Whale, respectively, to reach the final.

In the final, despite a stellar performance from Whitecaps keeper Amanda Leveille and a two goal performance from Allie Thunstrom, it was an early Jillian Dempsey tally, helpers from Lexie Laing and Mary Parker, and a late go-ahead power play goal from Taylor Wenczkowski, and a stellar defensive performance that let the Pride hang on for a 4-3 victory on home ice, despite no home crowd to celebrate. With the win, the Pride become the first two-time Isobel Cup champions in NWHL history, following their first title in 2016.

Our congratulations go out to the players, management and fans of the Boston Pride, with those on the roster that have also held the IHLC highlighted in bold:

๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ McKenna Brand, forward
๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Paige Capistran, defence
๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Sammy Davis, forward
๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Jillian Dempsey, forward
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Kaleigh Fratkin, defence
๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Victoria Hanson, goaltender
๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Lauren Kelly, defence
๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Lexie Laing, forward
๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Paul Mara, head coach
๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Briana Mastel, defence
๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Johnny McInnis, assistant coach
๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Meghara McManus, forward
๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Mary Parker, defence
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Christina Putigna, forward
๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Jenna Rheault, defence
๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Meaghan Rickard, forward
๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ช Lovisa Selander, goaltender
๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Mallory Souliotis, defence
๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Tori Sullivan, defence
๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Carlee Turner, forward
๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Taylor Turnquist, defence
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ Tereza Vaniลกovรก, forward
๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Taylor Wenczkowski, forward

Photo Credit: Warrior Ice Arenaย IIHFHHOFIOC



Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.