2022 Women’s World Championship Schedule Released

For the first time in its history, the IIHF Women’s World Championship will take place in an Olympic year, with the world’s top ten women’s teams convening in Denmark on 25 August to compete for the title of the world’s best, just six months after wrapping up the Olympics in Beijing.

Group A in Herning sees defending Olympic and World Champions Canada amongst their usual opponents, namely the United States, Finland and Switzerland, but thanks to Russia’s expulsion from the tournament, Japan is promoted from Group B to the top tier for the first time in their history, looking to surprise. Canada of course are the favourites thanks to their recent dominating performances in Calgary and Beijing, but the Americans will be out for revenge, and looking to recapture their pre-COVID dominance over the Canadians, and Finland will look to match recent successes of their male counterparts in the men’s and junior categories in recent years, as well as try to replicate some of their magic from their 2019 Silver medal run.

Group B in Frederikshavn will feature hosts Denmark, hosting for the first time ever, against Germany, Czechia, Hungary and Sweden, who was promoted up from Division IA by virtue of Japan moving to Group A to replace the Russians, returning to the Top Division for the first time since their shocking demotion in 2019. Czechia topped Group B in last year’s tournament, and would be expected to do the same this year, looking to make a dent in the medal rounds and move up to Group A. The Czechs and Danes are also good bets to contend for the top three spots in the group, while Sweden will try to return to former glory and jump their way up the standings, leaving Hungary as the likely suspect to be relegated and replaced by France in 2023.

The tournament schedule is as follows:

GROUP A – 🇨🇦 🇫🇮 🇯🇵 🇨🇭 🇺🇸 GROUP B – 🇨🇿 🇩🇰 🇩🇪 🇭🇺 🇸🇪
Thursday, 25 August
🇯🇵 Japan vs. United States 🇺🇸
🇨🇦 Canada vs. Finland 🇫🇮
🇩🇪 Germany vs. Hungary 🇭🇺
🇩🇰 Denmark vs. Sweden 🇸🇪
Friday, 26 August
🇯🇵 Japan vs. Switzerland 🇨🇭 🇨🇿 Czechia vs. Hungary 🇭🇺
Saturday, 27 August
🇫🇮 Finland vs. United States 🇺🇸
🇨🇦 Canada vs. Switzerland 🇨🇭
🇩🇪 Germany vs. Sweden 🇸🇪
🇨🇿 Czechia vs. Denmark 🇩🇰
Sunday, 28 August
🇨🇦 Canada vs. Japan 🇯🇵 🇩🇰 Denmark vs. Hungary 🇭🇺
Monday, 29 August
🇫🇮 Finland vs. Japan 🇯🇵
🇨🇭 Switzerland vs. United States 🇺🇸
🇨🇿 Czechia vs. Germany 🇩🇪
🇭🇺 Hungary vs. Sweden 🇸🇪
Tuesday, 30 August
🇫🇮 Finland vs. Switzerland 🇨🇭
🇨🇦 Canada vs. United States 🇺🇸
🇨🇿 Czechia vs. Sweden 🇸🇪
🇩🇰 Denmark vs. Germany 🇩🇪
Thursday, 01 September
Quarterfinal #1
Quarterfinal #2
Quarterfinal #3
Quarterfinal #4
Friday, 03 September
Semifinal #1
Semifinal #2
Placement Game #1
Placement Game #2
Sunday, 04 September
Gold Medal Game
Bronze Medal Game
Placement Game #3

Unless there are pre-tournament exhibition games to take place before 25 August, the IHLC will likely be brought in by the incumbent champions Canada, who will have their first competition since Beijing this past February. With the opportunity for the first non-COVID World Championships in three years, with international fans in the stands in Denmark, this will shape up to be a very exciting tournament!

Photo Credit: 2021 Women’s World Championship – IIHFHHOFIOC



Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.