๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ Jaลกkin Big Winner At 2023 KHL Awards

The Kontinental Hockey League formally wrapped their fifteenth season tonight in Moscow with their annual Closing Ceremony, awarding the league’s top teams, players and executives for their performance this year, with eleven IHLC winners from Russia and Czechia taking home trophies.

Despite CSKA Moscow capturing the Gagarin Cup just under three weeks ago, it was SKA Saint Petersburg, and namely their captain and star winger Dmitrij Jaลกkin, who came away as the big winner, capturing League MVP, goal and points titles, along with being named to the league All-Star team for the season. Teammates Alexander Nikshin and Andrei Pedan took home honours for top scoring defender and best plus-minus, respectively, with Nikishin also making the league All-Star team.

CSKA, meanwhile, saw three trophies won, for Top Coach (Sergei Fyodorov), the “Iron Man” Award (Konstantin Okulov) and Playoff MVP (Mikhail Grigorenko), while other teams taking home hardware included Avangard Omsk, Metallurg Magnitogorsk and Admiral Vladivostok taking home two trophies each, along with Ak Bars Kazan star Alexander Radulov rounding out the KHL All-Star Team. To celebrate their fifteenth season, an anniversary “Golden Team” was awarded, with KHL legends and ILHC winners Zinetula Bilyaletdinov, Alexander Yeryomenko, Ilya Nikulin, Danis Zaripov,ย Sergei Mozyakin and Ilya Kovalchuk honoured, the only non-Russian being Canadian-born Kazakh defender Kevin Dallman.

Due to Russia’s continued invasion of Ukraine, and subsequent ban from international competition and exodus of non-Russian teams and most non-Russian players, the only non-Russian trophy winners were Czech Jaลกkin, Canadian Corban Knight and American Reid Boucher, who won the “Best Troika” award with Russian Vladimir Tkachyov, representing the top line from Avangard.

The KHL Award Trophy winners for the 2022-23 season (with winners in bold and an asterisk denoting former IHLC holders) are as follows:

Golden Stick (League MVP)
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ Dmitrij Jaลกkinย (SKA)*
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Alexander Nikishin (SKA)*
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Alexander Radulov (Ak Bars)*

Top Scorer (Most Points)
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ Dmitrij Jaลกkinย (SKA)*

Top Sniper (Most Goals)
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ Dmitrij Jaลกkinย (SKA)*

Top Scoring Defenceman
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Alexander Nikishin (SKA)*

Best Troika (Top Scoring Line)
๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Reid Boucher (Avangard)
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Corban Knight (Avangard)
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Vladimir E. Tkachyov (Avangard)*

Top Goaltender
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Maxim Dorozhko (Vityaz)
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Danil Isayev (Lokomotiv)
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Nikita Serebryakov (Admiral)

Best Plus / Minus
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Andrei Pedan (SKA)*

Iron Man Award
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Konstantin Okulov (CSKA)*
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Denis Zernov (Avangard)*

Alexei Cherepanov Award (Top Rookie)
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Nikita Grebyonkin (Metallurg)

๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Bogdan Konyushkov (Torpedo)
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Stepan Nikulin (Lokomotiv)

Gimayev Prize (Loyalty To Hockey)
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Vasili Koshechkin (Metallurg)*

Best Coach
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Zinetula Bilyaletdinov (Ak Bars)*
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Sergei Fyodorov (CSKA)*
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Igor Larionov (Torpedo)*

Best Director
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Igor Yesmantovich (CSKA)

Playoff MVP
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Mikhail Grigorenko (CSKA)*

Golden Helmet (KHL All-Star Team)
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Mikhail Grigorenko (CSKA)*
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ Dmitrij Jaลกkinย (SKA)*
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Nikita Nesterov (CSKA)*

๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Alexander Nikishin (SKA)*
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Alexander Radulov (Ak Bars)*
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Nikita Serebryakov

Photo Credit: KHLย โ€“ IIHF โ€“ HHOF โ€“ IOC



Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.