IHLC Results – Canada 10-1 Switzerland – Feb. 15, 2010

canada1965-11 Canada 10-1 Switzerland switzerland-11
Olympic Preliminary Round
UBC Thunderbird Arena, Vancouver canada1965-11
Monday, February 15, 2010

Canada continued its torrid pace in opening the 2010 Vancouver Olympics on home ice, squashing Switzerland 10-1 to total their two game goal differential to 28-1, retaining the International Hockey Lineal Championship in the process.

Outshooting the Swiss 16-2 in the first period, Canada surprisingly only put two pucks past Swiss keeper Florence Schelling in the period, with a power play tip in from Gillian Apps and a rebound goal by Sarah Vaillancourt putting Canada ahead 2-0 after twenty minutes. Rebound control became the dominant theme on the day for Schelling, who gave up a third goal on a rebound to Cherie Piper 2:19 into the third, followed by a pair of goals from Meghan Agosta in a span of 3:07 midway through the second for the 5-0 Canada lead. The Eisgenossen managed to break Shannon Szabados’ shutout on a late rebound goal from Darcia Leimgruber, to put the score at 5-1 after forty minutes.

Any momentum from the late Swiss goal was evaporated just 54 seconds into the third, when Jayna Hefford beat Schelling on a shorthanded breakaway to go ahead 6-1. Schelling conceded a trio of goals in a span of 1:35, giving up quick goals to Catherine Ward, Marie-Philip Poulin and Rebecca Johnston to put Canada ahead 9-1. Hayley Wickenheiser would provide the tenth and final strike, a one-timer from Piper to get Schelling pulled after her tenth goal conceded. While Dominique Slongo did not give up any goals in the backup role, the game was well in hand before, as Canada cruised to the 10-1 win.

With the win, Canada retains the International Hockey Lineal Championship it won at the Four Nations Cup in November, and defended in four straight exhibition wins against Team USA leading into Vancouver, where they opened the Olympics with a win over Slovakia. Canada and Switzerland last met over the IHLC at the opening game of the 2007 World Championships, where Canada retained the IHLC in a 9-0 win. Canada next faces Sweden to finish the Preliminary Round with the IHLC up for grabs.

1st Period
05:27 – switzerland-11 PEN – S. Marty, holding
06:27 – canada1965-11 PP GOAL – Apps (Kingsbury, Piper)
10:24 – switzerland-11 PEN – Meier, interference
12:11 – canada1965-11 PEN – Johnston, slashing
14:25 – canada1965-11 GOAL – Vaillancourt (Johnston)
16:44 – switzerland-11 PEN – Nussbaum, holding
18:34 – canada1965-11 PEN – Kingsbury, holding

2nd Period
22:19 – canada1965-11 GOAL – Piper (Wickenheiser)
28:08 – canada1965-11 GOAL – Agosta (Ward, Ouellette)
31:15 – canada1965-11 GOAL – Agosta (Ouellette, Hefford)
35:25 – canada1965-11 PEN – Ouellette, body checking
39:46 – switzerland-11 GOAL – Leimgruber (Lehmann, S. Marty)
40:00 – canada1965-11 PEN – Vaillancourt, holding

3rd Period
40:54 – canada1965-11 SH GOAL – Hefford (Wickenheiser)
49:08 – canada1965-11 GOAL – Ward
49:27 – canada1965-11 GOAL – Poulin
50:43 – canada1965-11 GOAL – Johnston (Vaillancourt, Kellar)
51:55 – canada1965-11 GOAL – Wickenheiser (Piper, Apps)
53:55 – canada1965-11 PEN – Irwin, high sticking
59:31 – switzerland-11 PEN – Nussbaum, tripping

W: canada1965-11 Szabados (11-12)
L: switzerland-11 Schelling (45-55), Slongo (7-7)

canada1965-11 16+21+25 = 62
switzerland-11 2+7+3 = 12

canada1965-11 Goaltenders: Charline Labonté, Shannon Szabados. Defence: Tessa Bonhomme, Becky Kellar, Carla MacLeod, Meaghan Mikkelson, Colleen Sostorics, Catherine Ward. Forwards: Meghan Agosta, Gillian Apps, Jennifer Botterill, Jayna Hefford (A), Haley Irwin, Rebecca Johnston, Gina Kingsbury, Caroline Ouellette (A), Cherie Piper, Marie-Philip Poulin, Sarah Vaillancourt, Hayley Wickenheiser (C).
switzerland-11 Goaltenders: Florence Schelling, Dominique Slongo. Defence: Laura Benz, Angela Frautschi, Julia Marty (A), Lucrèce Nussbaum, Claudia Riechsteiner, Sandra Thalmann, Stefanie Wyss. Forwards: Sara Benz, Nicole Bullo, Melanie Häfliger, Kathrin Lehmann (C), Darcia Leimgruber, Stefanie Marty, Christine Meier (A), Rahel Michielin, Katrin Nabholz, Anja Stiefel, Sabrina Zollinger.

Photo Credit: Windsor Star – IIHFHHOFIOC



Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s