IHLC Results – Canada 13-0 Switzerland – Apr. 3, 2013

canada1965-11 Canada 13-0 Switzerland switzerland-11
Women’s World Championship Preliminary Round
Scotiabank Place, Ottawa canada1965-11
Wednesday, April 3, 2013

Canada won their first game as incumbent International Hockey Lineal Champions in a dominating fashion, crushing Switzerland 13-0, on the backs of a four goal performance from Marie-Philip Poulin, in their second group game at the 2013 World Championships to retain the IHLC.

Team Canada began its shellacking of the Swiss early, opening the scoring at 4:40 on a Jennifer Wakefield rebound from her own breakaway to put Canada ahead 1-0. Canada would only strike once more in the first, on a Marie-Philip Poulin wire past Swiss netminder Sophie Anthamatten, who faced 28 shots in the first alone. The onslaught continued in the second period, with a power play tally from Rebecca Johnston, a shorthanded goal from Jayna Hefford, and goals from Brianne Jenner, Sarah Vaillancourt and a pair from Brianne Jenner making it 8-0 after forty minutes, in which Canada outshot the Swiss 54-15.

Anthamatten was mercifully pulled after Canada scored two more in the early third period, a power play goal from Haley Irwin followed by Poulin’s second of the night, but backup Dominique Slongo did not fare much better. Poulin got her hat trick on Canada’s 11th goal on a beautiful 2-on-1 feed from Hefford, and would add a fourth, and along with a tally from Meaghan Mikkelson, Canada would end the night with a final score of 13-0. Canada pounded 79 shots on both Anthamatten and Slongo, while the Eisgenossen could only muster 16 shots on the whole night, leading to the easy shutout for Charline Labonté.

With the win, Canada wins its second straight in its current International Hockey Lineal Championship reign, its 28th, which it won from the U.S. in their first World Championship game. Canada and Switzerland last played for the IHLC at the 2010 Olympics, where Canada crushed the Swiss 10-1 in preliminary action in Vancouver. Canada now finishes off group play next against Finland.

1st Period
04:40 – canada1965-11 GOAL – Wakefield
08:01 – canada1965-11 PEN – Ward, body checking
10:38 – switzerland-11 PEN – I. Waidacher, tripping
12:48 – canada1965-11 GOAL – Poulin (Fortino)

2nd Period
22:18 – switzerland-11 PEN – Dale, hooking
23:49 – canada1965-11 PP GOAL – Johnston (Ward, Wakefield)
24:56 – canada1965-11 PEN – Ward, checking from behind + 10 min. misconduct
25:30 – canada1965-11 SH GOAL – Hefford (Poulin, Larocque)
28:11 – canada1965-11 GOAL – Spooner (Johnston, Larocque)
30:05 – switzerland-11 PEN – J. Marty, cross checking
33:32 – canada1965-11 GOAL – Jenner
34:53 – canada1965-11 PEN – Mikkelson, interference
37:46 – canada1965-11 GOAL – Vaillancourt (Irwin, Rougeau)
39:58 – canada1965-11 GOAL – Jenner (Wakefield, Mikkelson)

3rd Period
44:39 – switzerland-11 PEN – Stanz, high sticking
46:23 – canada1965-11 PP GOAL – Irwin (Agosta)
47:37 – canada1965-11 GOAL – Poulin (Hefford)
50:44 – canada1965-11 GOAL – Poulin (Hefford)
55:42 – canada1965-11 GOAL – Mikkelson (Bram, Apps)
56:45 – canada1965-11 GOAL – Poulin (Bonhomme, Jenner)
59:26 – canada1965-11 PEN – Rougeau, body checking

W: canada1965-11 Labonté (16-16)
L: switzerland-11 Anthamatten (54-64), Slongo (12-15)

canada1965-11 28+26+25 = 79
switzerland-11 10+5+1 = 16

canada1965-11 Goaltenders: Charline Labonté, Shannon Szabados. Defence: Courtney Birchard, Tessa Bonhomme, Laura Fortino, Jocelyne Larocque, Meaghan Mikkelson, Lauriane Rougeau, Catherine Ward (A). Forwards: Meghan Agosta, Gillian Apps (A), Bailey Bram, Jayna Hefford (C), Haley Irwin, Brianne Jenner, Rebecca Johnston, Marie-Philip Poulin, Natalie Spooner, Sarah Vaillancourt, Jennifer Wakefield.
switzerland-11 Goaltenders: Sophie Anthamatten, Dominique Slongo. Defence: Livia Altmann, Nicole Bullo (A), Sarah Forster, Julia Marty (C), Sandra Thalmann, Meryl Vaucher, Karin Williner, Sabrina Zollinger. Forwards: Sara Benz, Mariko Dale, Romy Eggimann, Jessica Lutz, Stefanie Marty, Katrin Nabholz (A), Evelina Raselli, Andrea Schranz, Phoebe Stanz, Anja Stiefel, Isabel Waidacher, Monika Waidacher.

Photo Credit: World Women 2013 – IIHFHHOFIOC



Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s