IHLC Results – Canada 8-0 Finland – Apr. 5, 2013

canada1965-11 Canada 8-0 Finland finland-11
Women’s World Championship Preliminary Round
Scotiabank Place, Ottawa canada1965-11
Friday, April 5, 2013

Canada coasted to a perfect 3-0 Preliminary Round at the 2013 Women’s World Championship in Ottawa, riding a hat trick from Meghan Agosta to rout Finland 8-0, to win Group A and retain the International Hockey Lineal Championship.

While Noora Räty played a solid opening fifteen minutes to keep the score at 0-0, it was just a matter of time before Canada’s constant pounding resulted in a goal. And in the span of four minutes towards the end of the first, Canada opened the floodgates with three consecutive goals – a backhander from Bailey Bram, a point shot through traffic by Brianne Jnener, and a tipped in rebound on a delayed penalty from Jenner again suddenly put Canada ahead 3-0 after twenty minutes, outshooting Finland 21-5. While things slowed in the second, Agosta scored her first of the game on a behind-the-net pass from Haley Irwin to make it 4-0 after two.

The onslaught continued in the third, with Agosta striking again on a beautiful breakaway goal, deking past Räty to make it 5-0. Sarah Vaillancourt struck three minutes later with a bouncing rebound on an expiring power play to drive Räty to the bench, but her replacement, Meeri Räisänen, did not fare much better. Only a minute and change after that, Jennifer Wakefield made it 7-0 on a 3-on-1, and Agosta got her hat trick just a minute after that, swooping past defenders Rosa Lindstedt and Jenni Hiirikoski to put a backhand-to-forehand goal past Räisänen to make it 8-0, what would hold up as the final score. Shannon Szabados was sharp when needed, stopping all 16 shots for Canada en route to a shutout.

With the win, Canada sweeps the group round of the 2013 Women’s World Championship, where it won its 28th International Hockey Lineal Championship from the U.S. in the opener on April 2. Canada and Finland last met with the IHLC on the line at the opening of the Four Nations Cup in November, with Canada retaining in a 6-0 victory. Canada, who gets a bye directly to the Semifinals, will now face the winner of the Russia-Switzerland Quarterfinal with a trip to the Gold Medal Game, and the IHLC, in play.

1st Period
08:11 – canada1965-11 PEN – Larocque, interference
08:38 – finland-11 PEN – Lindstedt, tripping
08:57 – finland-11 PEN – Jalosuo, slashing
14:25 – canada1965-11 GOAL – Bram (Ouellette, Ward)
16:03 – canada1965-11 GOAL – Jenner (Birchard, Poulin)
18:06 – canada1965-11 EA GOAL – Jenner (Hefford, Poulin)

2nd Period
24:24 – finland-11 PEN – Rajahuhta, tripping
27:01 – canada1965-11 PEN – Rougeau, tripping
27:08 – canada1965-11 PEN – Ward, high sticking
32:48 – canada1965-11 PEN – Birchard, interference
39:00 – canada1965-11 GOAL – Agosta (Irwin, Vaillancourt)

3rd Period
41:38 – canada1965-11 GOAL – Agosta (Irwin, Ward)
42:26 – finland-11 PEN – Tuomanen, hooking
44:26 – canada1965-11 GOAL – Vaillancourt (Agosta, Bonhomme)
45:47 – canada1965-11 GOAL – Wakefield (Johnston)
46:52 – canada1965-11 GOAL – Agosta (Vaillancourt, Birchard)
53:49 – canada1965-11 PEN – Jenner, hooking
54:25 – canada1965-11 PEN – Rougeau, tripping
58:29 – canada1965-11 PEN – Mikkelson, body checking

W: canada1965-11 Szabados (16-16)
L: finland-11 Räty (31-37), Räisänen (4-6)

canada1965-11 21+12+10 = 43
finland-11 5+7+4 = 16

canada1965-11 Goaltenders: Charline Labonté, Shannon Szabados. Defence: Courtney Birchard, Tessa Bonhomme, Laura Fortino, Jocelyne Larocque, Meaghan Mikkelson, Lauriane Rougeau, Catherine Ward. Forwards: Meghan Agosta, Gillian Apps, Bailey Bram, Jayna Hefford (A), Haley Irwin, Brianne Jenner, Rebecca Johnston, Caroline Ouellette (A), Marie-Philip Poulin, Natalie Spooner, Sarah Vaillancourt, Jennifer Wakefield.
finland-11 Goaltenders: Meeri Räisänen, Noora Räty. Defence: Jenni Hiirikoski (C), Mira Jalosuo, Anna Kilponen, Rosa Lindstedt, Vilma Tarvainen, Saija Tarkki (A), Emma Terho (A), Tea Villilä. Forwards: Venta Hovi, Michelle Karvinen, Niina Mäkinen, Annina Rajahuhta, Karoliina Rantamäki, Tiina Saarimäki, Susanna Tapani, Nina Tikkinen, Anne Tuomanen, Minnamari Tuominen, Linda Välimäki, Marjo Voutilainen.

Photo Credit: World Women 2013 – IIHFHHOFIOC



Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s