IHLC Results – Norway 3-1 Finland – Apr. 12, 2013

norway-11 Norway 3-1 Finland finland-11
Euro Hockey Challenge
Kristins Hall, Lillehammer norway-11
Friday, April 12, 2013

Norway stunned a more powerful Finnish squad on home ice at the Euro Hockey Challenge to capture the International Hockey Lineal Championship in a dominant 3-1 victory over the Leijonat. Three consecutive third period goals from Per-Åge Skrøder, Mathis Olimb and Robin Dahlstrøm on just five third period shots propelled the Isbjørnene to the win, while Lars Volden stopped 25 of 26 in net to hold Finland at bay. Atte Engren, only facing 11 shots, only stopped 9 in the loss.

The win begins Norway’s fourth reign as International Hockey Lineal Championship holders, their first reign since winning the title from Switzerland in qualifying round play at the 2010 World Championships, leaving the tournament with the title before it entered the medal round. This was the first IHLC meeting between Norway and Finland since the 2006 World Championships, where Finland retained the title in a 3-0 win. Norge only has a short time to celebrate, however, as they meet Finland again in just one day with the title on the line.

1st Period
03:45 – finland-11 PEN – Kousa, slashing
08:15 – finland-11 PEN – Ohtamaa, interference
16:09 – norway-11 PEN – Martinsen, slashing
17:25 – finland-11 PEN – Melart, elbowing

2nd Period
23:54 – norway-11 PEN – Hansen, hooking
25:52 – finland-11 PP GOAL – Osala (Hietanen, Näenpää)
28:42 – norway-11 PEN – Dahlstrøm, roughing
28:42 – finland-11 PEN – Hagman, roughing
30:23 – norway-11 PEN – Rindal, cross checking

3rd Period
40:32 – norway-11 GOAL – Skrøder (M. Olimb, Hansen)
57:06 – norway-11 GOAL – M. Olimb (Hansen, Skrøder)
59:07 – norway-11 EN GOAL – Dahlstrøm

W: norway-11 Volden (25-26)
L: finland-11 Engren (9-11)

norway-11 5+2+5 = 12
finland-11 7+7+12 = 26

norway-11 Goaltenders: Lars Haugen, Lars Volden. Defence: Alexander Bonsaksen, Nicolai Bryhnisveen, Jonas Holøs, Aleksander Rindal, Mats Trygg, Henrik Ødegaard. Forwards: Robin Dahlstrøm, Jonas Djupvik Løvlie, Kristian Forsberg, Mats Frøshaug, Mads Hansen, Magnus Lindahl, Fredrik Lystad Jacobsen, Andreas Martinsen, Ken André Olimb, Mathis Olimb, Niklas Roest, Mats Rosseli Olsen, Per-Åge Skrøder.
finland-11 Goaltenders: Atte Engren, Mika Järvinen. Defence: Juuso Hietanen, Mikko Kousa, Teemu Laakso, Sami Lepistö, Ilari Melart, Mikko Näenpää, Atte Ohtamaa, Rasmus Ristolainen. Forwards: Marko Anttila, Juha-Pekka Haataja, Niklas Hagman, Juha-Pekka Hytönen, Pekka Jormakka, Kristian Kuusela, Oskar Osala, Teemu Ramstedt, Jere Sallinen, Tomi Sallinen, Miikka Salomäki, Ville Viitaluoma, Petteri Wirtanen.



Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s