IHLC Results – Finland 3-2 Canada – May 22, 2014

finland-11 Finland 3-2 Canada canada1965-11
World Championship Quarterfinal
Chyzhouka-Arena, Minsk belarus-11
Thursday, May 22, 2014

For the fifth straight year, Canada has been dumped from the World Championships at the Quarterfinal stage, this time by Finland, who with the victory moves one step closer to the finals, and captures the International Hockey Lineal Championship in the process.

Finland opened up the scoring on the power play, with Olli Palola rocketing a one-timer past Ben Scrivens during a Tyler Myers roughing call to put the Finns up 1-0. The Leijonat did successfully kill off three consecutive penalties, but were finally matched five minutes into the second period, where a beautiful passing play between Kyle Turris and Matt Read led to Turris fooling Pekka Rinne to even things up at 1-1. Seven minutes later, Winnipeg Jet Mark Scheifele pulled Team Canada ahead on a 2-on-1 with Joel Ward, capitalizing on a steal from Petri Kontiola to put Canada ahead 2-1.

With both teams fighting furiously in the third, but Canada unable to solve Rinne, Finland evened the score just 28 seconds into the third period, with Juuso Hietanen blasted a point shot that just trickled past Scrivens over the goal line to pull even at 2-2. And while both teams played relatively safe games in the third, the deadlock was finally broken with only 3:08 remaining, when Jori Lehterä fed Iiro Pakarinen with a turnover at the Canada blue line, that he wired through Scrivens’ five hole to put Finland up 3-2.

Canada was only able to pull Scrivens for an extra attacker with 30 seconds to go, and were unable to equalize, calling for another early, disappointing exit, and ensuring that Sweden (2006) will remain the only country still to ever win Olympic and World Championship Gold in the same year. As for Finland, they advance to the Semifinals for the fourth consecutive World Championships.

With the win, Finland ends Canada’s four game International Hockey Lineal Championship win streak, capturing their 48th IHLC title. Canada entered the Worlds as IHLC champion, and the title passed through the hands of France, Italy, Denmark and Canada before Finland’s win. This is Finland’s first IHLC since December 2013, when they won the IHLC to carry into the Sochi Olympics – Sochi was also the last IHLC meeting between these two, which Canada won 2-1 in overtime. They will face the Czech Republic in the Semifinals next, with a trip to the Gold Medal Game versus Russia or Sweden, and of course the IHLC, on the line.

1st Period
02:13 – finland-11 PEN – Lehterä, interference
04:31 – canada1965-11 PEN – Myers, roughing
06:14 – finland-11 PP GOAL – Palola (Hietanen, Lehterä)
13:21 – finland-11 PEN – Haula, high sticking
17:09 – finland-11 PEN – Karalahti, cross checking
19:04 – finland-11 PEN – Kivistö, cross checking

2nd Period
25:41 – canada1965-11 GOAL – Turris (Read)
31:52 – finland-11 PEN – Karalahti, roughing
31:52 – canada1965-11 PEN – Turris, roughing
32:08 – canada1965-11 GOAL – Scheifele
33:17 – canada1965-11 PEN – Garrison, tripping
33:56 – finland-11 PEN – Mäntylä, interference

3rd Period
40:28 – finland-11 GOAL – Hietanen (Lehterä, Kontiola)
56:52 –finland-11  GOAL – Pakarinen (Lehterä)

W: finland-11 Rinne (36-38)
L: canada1965-11 Scrivens (23-26)

finland-11 9+7+10 = 26
canada1965-11 12+14+12 = 38

finland-11 Goaltenders: Mikko Koskinen, Pekka Rinne. Defence: Juuso Hietanen, Jere Karalahti, Tommi Kivistö, Ville Lajunen, Tuukka Mäntylä, Jyri Marttinen, Atte Ohtamaa. Forwards: Erik Haula, Tommi Huhtala, Jarkko Immonen, Olli Jokinen (C), Pekka Jormakka, Leo Komarov (A), Petri Kontiola, Jori Lehterä (A), Iiro Pakarinen, Olli Palola, Jere Sallinen, Tomi Sallinen, Miikka Salomäki.
canada1965-11 Goaltenders: James Reimer, Ben Scrivens. Defence: Kevin Bieksa (C), Braydon Coburn, Ryan Ellis, Jason Garrison, Erik Gudbrandson, Tyler Myers, Morgan Rielly. Forwards: Alex Burrows, Troy Brouwer, Jason Chimera (A), Cody Hodgson, Jonathan Huberdeau, Nazem Kadri, Nathan MacKinnon, Sean Monahan, Matt Read, Mark Scheifele, Brayden Schenn, Kyle Turris (A), Joel Ward.

Photo Credit: Windsor Star – IIHFHHOFIOC



Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s