2018 Women’s Olympic Hockey Schedule Released

The schedule for the women’s tournament at the 2018 Olympics in Pyeongchang, Korea were released by the IIHF today, kicking off hockey at the Olympics on Saturday, February 10.

Group B starts off the tournament, with Japan facing Sweden in the opener, followed by hosts Korea playing Switzerland, while the teams of Group A (Canada, Finland, Russia and the United States) starting the next day, and playing alternating days afterwards. The playoff rounds begin one week later, where Canada will look to win their fifth consecutive Olympic gold medal, while the United States will look to finally lift the weight of 20 years of silver with a victory, while squads like Finland, Russia or Switzerland looking to play spoiler.

UPDATE (Dec. 5): As a result of Russia’s ban from the 2018 Olympics, approved athletes will be able to participate under the Olympic Flag as the “Olympic Athletes From Russia” team; the schedule below has been adjusted to reflect this change.

The tournament schedule is as follows:

canada1965-11 Canada
finland-11 Finland
 O.A.F. Russia
usa-11 United States
southkorea-11 Korea
sweden-11 Sweden
switzerland-11 Switzerland

Saturday, February 10
japan-11 Japan vs. Sweden sweden-11
southkorea-11 Korea vs. Switzerland switzerland-11

Sunday, February 11
finland-11 Finland vs. United States usa-11
canada1965-11 Canada vs. O.A.F. Russia

Monday, February 12
japan-11 Japan vs. Switzerland switzerland-11
southkorea-11 Korea vs. Sweden sweden-11

Tuesday, February 13
canada1965-11 Canada vs. Finland finland-11
O.A.F. Russia vs. United States usa-11

Wednesday, February 14
sweden-11 Sweden vs. Switzerland switzerland-11
japan-11 Japan vs. Korea southkorea-11

Thursday, February 15
canada1965-11 Canada vs. United States usa-11
finland-11 Finland vs. O.A.F. Russia

Saturday, February 17
Quarterfinal – A3 vs. B2
Quarterfinal – A4 vs. B1

Monday, February 19
Semifinal – A1 vs. A4/B1
Semifinal – A2 vs. A3/B2
Classification Game – B3 vs. B4

Thursday, February 22
Bronze Medal Game
Gold Medal Game

The IHLC for the tournament will likely fall to the winner of November’s Four Nations Cup, although if the title is held by the U.S. or Canada by the end of the tournament, the IHLC will be contested in a handful of exhibition tilts in the lead-up to the Games. The path to Pyeongchang is now clear, and who brings the IHLC to the Games will soon be very clear!

Photo Credit: Sochi 2014IIHFHHOFIOC



Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.