Draisaitl Leads The Pack At Virtual 2020 NHL Awards

The National Hockey League completed its awards distribution for the pandemic-delayed 2019-20 season with the conclusion of the Stanley Cup Finals in Edmonton, with twelve IHLC holders representing nine countries taking home trophies handed out over the past month.

With the Conn Smythe Trophy going to Victor Hedman, the sixteenth and final NHL award was given out, after all other trophies were awarded virtually at the start of the Conference Finals, beginning on 06 September. Leon Draisaitl was the big winner, with the Edmonton Oilers forward taking home the trio of the Hart, Ted Lindsay and Art Ross Trophies, becoming the first German-trained player to win a major NHL award. Draisaitl also becomes the twelfth player in NHL history, and third Oiler (after Wayne Gretzky and teammate Connor McDavid) to win the Hart, Ross and Lindsay in the same season.

Only two winners repeated in 2020, that being Ovechkin (his record ninth Rocket Richard) and Halák (his second Jennings), while Hedman, Rask, MacKinnon and Giordano took home their first trophies in their respective categories. Eight players (Draisaitl, Pastrňák, Dumba, Ryan, Couturier, Josi, Hellebuyck and Makar) and two staff (Cassidy and Lamoriello) had the distinction of winning their first individual trophies of any kind in the NHL.

The NHL Award winners and nominees for the 2019-20 season (with winners in bold and an asterisk denoting former IHLC holders) are as follows:

Hart Memorial Trophy (League MVP)
🇩🇪 Leon Draisaitl (Oilers)
🇨🇦 Nathan MacKinnon (Avalanche)*
🇷🇺 Artemi Panarin (Rangers)*

Ted Lindsay Award (MVP Voted By Players)
🇩🇪 Leon Draisaitl (Oilers)
🇨🇦 Nathan MacKinnon (Avalanche)*
🇷🇺 Artemi Panarin (Rangers)*

Vezina Trophy (Top Goaltender)
🇺🇸 Connor Hellebuyck (Jets)
🇫🇮 Tuukka Rask (Bruins)*
🇷🇺 Andrei Vasilevski (Lightning)*

James Norris Memorial Trophy (Top Defenceman)
🇺🇸 John Carlson (Capitals)*
🇸🇪 Victor Hedman (Lightning)*
🇨🇭 Roman Josi (Predators)*

Calder Memorial Trophy (Rookie Of The Year)
🇺🇸 Quinn Hughes (Canucks)*
🇨🇿 Dominik Kubalík (Blackhawks)*
🇨🇦 Cale Makar (Avalanche)*

Mark Messier Leadership Award (Top Leader)
🇨🇦 Mark Giordano (Flames)*

Jim Gregory Award (General Manager Of The Year)
🇨🇦 Julien BriseBois (Lightning)
🇺🇸 Lou Lamoriello (Islanders)
🇨🇦 Jim Nill (Stars)

Lady Byng Memorial Trophy (Most Gentlemanly Conduct)
🇨🇦 Nathan MacKinnon (Avalanche)*
🇺🇸 Auston Matthews (Maple Leafs)*
🇨🇦 Ryan O’Reilly (Blues)*

Frank J. Selke Trophy (Top Defensive Forward)
🇨🇦 Patrice Bergeron (Bruins)*
🇨🇦 Sean Couturier (Flyers)*
🇨🇦 Ryan O’Reilly (Blues)*

Jack Adams Award (Coach Of The Year)
🇨🇦 Bruce Cassidy (Bruins)
🇺🇸 John Tortorella (Blue Jackets)*
🇨🇦 Alain Vigneault (Flyers)*

Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy (Perseverance & Dedication)
🇺🇸 Stephen Johns (Stars)
🇸🇪 Oskar Lindblom (Flyers)*
🇺🇸 Bobby Ryan (Senators)*

King Clancy Memorial Trophy (On & Off-Ice Leadership)
🇨🇦 Matt Dumba (Wild)*
🇸🇪 Henrik Lundqvist (Rangers)*
🇨🇦 P.K. Subban (Devils)*

A few trophies for the evening were already pre-determined, whether based purely on seasonal statistics, or in the case of the Conn Smythe Trophy, being awarded at the conclusion of the NHL playoffs.

Conn Smythe Trophy (Playoff MVP)
🇸🇪 Victor Hedman (Lightning)*

Art Ross Trophy (Most Points, Season)
🇩🇪 Leon Draisaitl (Oilers)

Rocket Richard Trophy (Most Goals, Season)
🇷🇺 Alexander Ovechkin (Capitals)*
🇨🇿 David Pastrňák (Bruins)*

William M. Jennings Trophy (Least Goals Against, Season)
🇸🇰 Jaroslav Halák (Bruins)*
🇫🇮 Tuukka Rask (Bruins)*

Photo Credit: Bauer – IIHFHHOFIOC


Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.