๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Tampa Bay Lightning Repeat As Stanley Cup Champions

Unlike having to win their 2020 title in front of an empty arena 4,500 kilometres from home, the Tampa Bay Lightning tonight repeated as Stanley Cup champions, defeating the Montrรฉal Canadiens 1-0 to win their third Stanley Cup in Game Five of the Finals in front of a packed Tampa crowd.

After the Canadiens avoided a sweep on the backs of a Josh Anderson overtime winner in Game Four, Andrei Vasilevski pitched his fourth shutout of the playoffs, stopping all 22 shots faced to send the Lightning to victory. It was rookie Ross Colton who scored the game’s only tally in the second period, serving as the game winner that denied the likes of veterans Shea Weber and Carey Price of their elusive first Stanley Cup, and denied Canada its first Stanley Cup since 1993.

The win marks the Lightning’s third Stanley Cup, following their titles in 2004 and 2020. The Lightning saw 20 IHLC champions from six countries on their roster hoist the Cup, including captain Steven Stamkos, returning from injury after being held to one period of play in 2020; forward Brayden Point, who nearly set an NHL record with a nine game playoff goal streak;ย sniper Nikita Kucherov, who notched 32 playoff points after missing the entire regular season; and Vasilevski, who posted a .935 save percentage and 1.99 goals against average en route to the Conn Smythe Trophy.

Our congratulations go out to the players, management and fans of the Tampa Bay Lightning, with those on the roster that have also held the IHLC highlighted in bold:

๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Julien BriseBois, general manager
๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ฐ Erik ฤŒernรกk, defence
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Anthony Cirelli, forward
๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Blake Coleman, forward
๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Ross Colton, forward
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Jon Cooper, head coach
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Jean-Philippe Cรดtรฉ, director
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Mathieu Darche, director
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Callan Foote, defence
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Barclay Goodrow, forward
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Yanni Gourde, forward
๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Jeff Halpern, assistant coach
๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ช Victor Hedman, defence
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Frantz Jean, goaltending coach
๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Tyler Johnson, forward
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Mathieu Joseph, forward
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Alex Killorn, forward
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Nikita Kucherov, forward
๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Derek Lalonde, assistant coach
๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Patrick Maroon, forward
๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Ryan McDonagh
, defence
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Curtis McElhinney, goaltender
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Al Murray, assistant GM
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ Ondล™ej Palรกt, forward
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Brayden Point, forward
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Jamie Pushor, assistant GM
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Stacy Roest, assistant GM
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ Jan Rutta, defence
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ David Savard, defence
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Luke Schenn, defence
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Mikhail Sergachyov, defence
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Steven Stamkos, forward
๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บย Andrei Vasilevski, goaltender
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Rob Zettler, assistant coach

Photo Credit: Sportsnetย – IIHF โ€“ HHOF โ€“ IOC



Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.