McDavid Sweeps, Vasilevski Completes 2021 NHL Awards

The National Hockey League completed its awards distribution for the 2020-21 season with the conclusion of the Stanley Cup Finals, with fourteen IHLC holders representing five countries taking home trophies handed out over the past month.

With the Conn Smythe Trophy going to Andrei Vasilevski, the sixteenth and final NHL award was given out, after all other trophies were awarded virtually starting with the Stanley Cup Conference Finals, with the winners for the Calder, Norris, Vezina, Lindsay and Hart named on 29 June during the Finals. After a historic season during a pandemic-shortened schedule, Connor McDavid of the Edmonton Oilers took home the Hart, Ted Lindsay and Art Ross trophies, a year after his Leon Draisaitl completed the troika in 2020. McDavid won his second Hart (first in 2017), and third Lindsay and Art Ross titles, following wins for both in 2017 and 2018. McDavid’s trio makes it the second time he has won all three trophies in one year, just one of twelve players in history to do so, and he is just the second player in history after Wayne Gretzky to unanimously win the Hart.

Only two other winners repeated in 2021, with Lou Lamoriello winning his second straight Jim Gregory Trophy for top General Manager, and Robin Lehner sharing his second Jennings Trophy with teammate Marc-André Fleury, his first coming in 2019 with the New York Islanders. Six winners (Barkov, Bergeron, Brind’Amour, Matthews, Rinne and Vasilevski) won their first trophies in their respective categories, while another five (Fleury, Fox, Kaprizov, Lindblom and Slavin) won their first individual trophies of any kind in the NHL.

The NHL Award winners and nominees for the 2020-21 season (with winners in bold and an asterisk denoting former IHLC holders) are as follows:

Hart Memorial Trophy (League MVP)
🇨🇦 Nathan MacKinnon (Avalanche)*
Auston Matthews (Maple Leafs)*
Connor McDavid (Oilers)*

Ted Lindsay Award (MVP Voted By Players)
🇨🇦 Sidney Crosby (Penguins)*
Auston Matthews (Maple Leafs)*
Connor McDavid (Oilers)*

Vezina Trophy (Top Goaltender)
🇨🇦 Marc-André Fleury (Golden Knights)
🇩🇪 Philipp Grubauer (Avalanche)
🇷🇺 Andrei Vasilevski (Lightning)*

James Norris Memorial Trophy (Top Defenceman)
🇺🇸 Adam Fox (Rangers)*
🇸🇪 Victor Hedman (Lightning)*
🇨🇦 Cale Makar (Avalanche)*

Calder Memorial Trophy (Rookie Of The Year)
🇷🇺 Kirill Kaprizov (Wild)*
🇺🇸 Alex Nedeljkovic (Hurricanes)*
🇺🇸 Jason Robertson (Stars)

Mark Messier Leadership Award (Top Leader)
🇨🇦 Patrice Bergeron (Bruins)*

Jim Gregory Award (General Manager Of The Year)
🇨🇦 Marc Bergevin (Canadiens)*
🇺🇸 Lou Lamoriello (Islanders)
🇺🇸 Bill Zito (Panthers)*

Lady Byng Memorial Trophy (Most Gentlemanly Conduct)
🇺🇸 Auston Matthews (Maple Leafs)*
🇺🇸 Jaccob Slavin (Hurricanes)
🇨🇦 Jared Spurgeon (Wild)

Frank J. Selke Trophy (Top Defensive Forward)
🇫🇮 Alexander Barkov (Panthers)*
🇨🇦 Patrice Bergeron (Bruins)*
🇨🇦 Mark Stone (Golden Knights)*

Jack Adams Award (Coach Of The Year)
🇨🇦 Rod Brind’Amour (Hurricanes)*
🇨🇦 Dean Evason (Wild)*
🇨🇦 Joel Quenneville (Panthers)*

Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy (Perseverance & Dedication)
🇨🇦 Matt Dumba (Wild)*
🇸🇪 Oskar Lindblom (Flyers)*
🇨🇦 Patrick Marleau (Sharks)*

King Clancy Memorial Trophy (On & Off-Ice Leadership)
🇨🇦 Kurtis Gabriel (Sharks)
🇫🇮 Pekka Rinne (Predators)*
🇨🇦 P.K. Subban (Devils)*

A few trophies for the evening were already pre-determined, whether based purely on seasonal statistics, or in the case of the Conn Smythe Trophy, being awarded at the conclusion of the NHL playoffs.

Conn Smythe Trophy (Playoff MVP)
🇷🇺 Andrei Vasilevski (Lightning)*

Art Ross Trophy (Most Points, Season)
🇨🇦 Connor McDavid (Oilers)*

Rocket Richard Trophy (Most Goals, Season)
🇺🇸 Auston Matthews (Maple Leafs)*

William M. Jennings Trophy (Least Goals Against, Season)
🇨🇦 Marc-André Fleury (Golden Knights)
🇸🇪 Robin Lehner (Golden Knights)*

Photo Credit: NHLPA – IIHF – HHOF – IOC


Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.