๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ ๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ฐ Hockey Hall Of Fame Inducts Class Of 2020 Following Delay

After a sixteen-month pandemic delay, the Hockey Hall Of Fame tonight inducted their Class of 2020, inducting five legendary players to their ranks with a number of tremendous international achievements.

As first noted upon the announcement of the class in June 2020, the Class of 2020 (and their corresponding achievements) are as follows:

๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Jarome Iginla, the 20-year NHL veteran who spent 16 seasons with the Calgary Flames (with short stints in Boston, Pittsburgh, Colorado and Los Angeles), was a seven-time All-Star, two-time Rocket Richard Trophy winner, and one-time Art Ross, Pearson, Clancy and Messier Award winner, with 1300 points in 1554 career games. The Edmonton native also won Gold for Canada at both the 2002 and 2010 Olympics, scoring twice in the former final and famously assisting Sidney Crosby’s “Golden Goal” in the latter. Iginla also captured Gold at the 1997 World Championships and 2004 World Cup of Hockey, and becomes just the fourth Black player (and first male skater) to enter the Hall, joining Willie O’Ree, Grant Fuhr and Angela James.

๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ฐ Mariรกn Hossa, the star Slovak forward whose career was cut short due to a skin disorder in 2018, is called to the Hall after winning three Stanley Cups in Chicago (2010, 2013, 2015) and being named a six-time All-Star after a 15 year career with stints in Ottawa, Atlanta, Pittsburgh, Detroit and Chicago. A three-time “Golden Puck” winner as the world’s top Slovak player, Hossa played at eight World Championships, three Olympics and two World Cups, only managing to medal in his final appearance with Team Europe’s Silver at the 2016 World Cup of Hockey. Hossa will become only the second Slovak to be called to the Hall, following Peter ล ลฅastnรฝ, inducted in 1998.

๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Kim St-Pierre, perhaps the most decorated women’s goaltender in history, notched a 64-10-9 record with Team Canada between 1998 and 2013, captured Gold at three Olympics (2002, 2006, 2010), five World Championships (1999, 2000, 2001, 2004, 2007) and nine Nations Cups (1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2005, 2006, 2009, 2010), along with Silver at four Worlds (2005, 2008, 2009, 2011) and one Nations Cup (2008). St-Pierre also backstopped both the McGill University Martlets and Montrรฉal Stars of the CWHL, winning two Clarkson Cups in 2009 and 2011, the first goalie in the women’s Triple Gold Club.

๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Kevin Lowe, the backstop who helped the Edmonton Oilers of the 1980’s to a historic five Stanley Cups (1984, 1985, 1987, 1988, 1990), along with a sixth in New York in 1994, anchored arguably the top teams in hockey history over the course of his 19-year career, with all but three seasons with the Oilers. A seven-time All-Star, dressed only twice for Team Canada in his career, winning Bronze at the 1982 World Championships and Gold at the 1984 Canada Cup. Post-retirement, Lowe took up coaching for one season before becoming Oilers GM in 2000, moving to Hockey Operations in 2009. Lowe has also been part of the staff of the Canadian Gold medal teams at the Olympics (2002, 2010, 2014) and World Cup (2004)

๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Doug Wilson, the defender who spent 16 seasons in the NHL, 14 with Chicago and two with the expansion San Jose Sharks, was an eight-time All-Star, one-time Norris Trophy winner, and holds a number of scoring records for defenders both with the Blackhawks and Sharks. Wilson only competed for Canada as a player once, winning Gold at the 1984 Canada Cup, but served as an executive with Canada’s World Junior Gold Medal teams (1994, 1995, 1996, 1997) before joining the Sharks front office in 1998. Wilson became VP of Hockey Operations and GM in 2003, serving as the former until 2017, and continues to serve as GM.

Also inducted into the builders category were Canadian Ken Holland, the longtime Detroit and Edmonton executive who has served on Canada’s management teams at both the 2010 and 2014 Olympics, as well as the 2016 World Cup of Hockey. Our congratulations go out to these hockey legends on joining the Hall Of Fame!

Photo Credit: NHLย –ย IIHFHHOFIOC



Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.