๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Toronto Six Capture 2023 Isobel Cup In OT Thriller

Following years of instability for the Premier Hockey Federation, largely due to COVID-19 restrictions and delays, the 2022-23 successful season, which introduced a seventh expansion team in Montrรฉal, came to a thrilling conclusion tonight in Tempe, Arizona, with the Toronto Sixย capturing the Isobel Cup with a 4-3 overtime victory over the Minnesota Whitecaps.

After two years of having to play the tournament at a single location due to COVID-19, with 2021 in Boston (following a failed bubble attempt in Lake Placid, New York) and 2022 in Tampa, the semifinals were held on home ice for the top seeded, two-time defending champions Boston Pride, who were upset by the Whitecaps in two straight to clinch their final spot, while the Six needed three games in Toronto to dispatch the Connecticut Whale. The championship game, scheduled on neutral ice at the Mullett Arena, home of the NHL’s Arizona Coyotes, sawย the Six win their first ever Isobel Cup, in just their third PHF season, and become the first Isobel Cup champions from north of the American border.

A back and forth bout throughout, it was goals from Brittyn Fleming, Brooke Madsen and Joanna Albers for Minnesota against Dominika Lรกskovรก, Breanne Wilson-Bennett and Taylor Woods with the equalizer for Toronto that sent the game to overtime at a 3-3 score, despite the Six outshooting the Whitecaps 31-23 in regulation. In 3-on-3 overtime, Toronto was pouring on the pressure from puck drop, and after Amanda Leveille was forced to make a number of big saves early, it was Tereza Vaniลกovรก with a top corner snipe on Leveille off a turnover in the corner that clinched the win for the Six.

Our congratulations go out to the players, management and fans of the Toronto Six, with those on the roster that have also held the IHLC highlighted in bold:

๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Brooke Boquist, forward
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Michela Cava, forward
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Elaine Chuli, goaltender
๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Shiann Darkangelo, forward
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Taylor Davison, defence
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Lindsay Eastwood, defence
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Nadine Edney, forward
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Courtney Gardiner, forward
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Emma Greco, defence
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Kevin Greco, assistant coach
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Geraldine Heaney, head coach
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Brittany Howard, forward
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Carly Jackson, goaltender
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Angela James, general manager
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ Dominika Lรกskovรก, defence
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Leah Lum, forward
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Sami Jo Small, president
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Kati Tabin, defence
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Lexi Templeman, forward
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Saroya Tinker, defence
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Jessica Turi, assistant coach
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ Tereza Vaniลกovรก, forward
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Daryl Watts, forward
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Breanne Wilson-Bennett, forward
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Alexis Woloschuk, defence
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Emma Woods, forward
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Taylor Woods, defence




Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.