Hockey Hall Of Fame Announces 2015 Class

The Hockey Hall Of Fame today announced the newest members that will join as the Class of 2015 in November, another diverse group who are legends in their own right not just professionally, but internationally as well. Nicklas Lidström, Chris Pronger, Sergei Fyodorov, Phil Housley and Angela Ruggiero have combined for over a dozen Olympic, World Championship and World Cup championships between them, in addition to all having held the International Hockey Lineal Championship on many occasions.

🇸🇪 Nicklas Lidström, “The Perfect Human,” spent his spectacular 20-season career all in Detroit, leading the Red Wings to four Stanley Cups and helping redefine the understanding of what an offensive defenseman can do. Lidström captured seven Norris Trophies as the league’s top defenseman, second in history to only Bobby Orr, also winning a Conn Smythe Trophy and being a 10-time First All-Star team member. With Tre Kronor, Lidström, who becomes just the fourth Swede in the Hall, suited up for three World Championships (1991, 1994, 2004), three Canada / World Cups (1991, 1996, 2004) and four Olympic Games (1998-2010), becoming a Triple Gold Club member by way of his World Championship Gold in 1991 (which served as his first IHLC) and Olympic Gold in 2006.

🇨🇦 Chris Pronger, a talented defenseman in his own right for very different reasons than Lidström, served 18 seasons with Hartford, St. Louis, Edmonton, Anaheim and Philadelphia, before his career was cut short in 2011 due to post-concussion syndrome. Pronger’s powerful presence, both with the puck and on the body, led him to the Stanley Cup in 2007 with the Ducks, along with six All-Star Games, the Norris Trophy, and the Hart Trophy as League MVP in 2000, the first defenseman since Orr in 1972. Pronger was also a mainstay for Team Canada, suiting up for four consecutive Olympics (1998-2010), winning Gold in 2002 and 2010, along with a World Championship Gold Medal in 1997, also making him a Triple Gold Club member.

🇷🇺 Sergei Fyodorov, the Russian speedster, made an immediate impact upon defecting from the Soviet Union in 1990, starting an illustrious 18-season career with Detroit, Anaheim, Columbus and Washington, winning three Cups with the Red Wings. Fyodorov, a six-time All Star that also won two Selke Trophies, the Pearson Award and the Hart Trophy as League MVP in 1994 (becoming the first European to do so), also spent time in the KHL with Magnitogorsk and CSKA, playing in three All-Star Games and winning League MVP in 2003. Fyodorov, the top-scoring Russian in NHL history, suited up for The Red Machine at four World Championships, a Canada and World Cup apiece, and three Olympic Games, winning Gold at the 1989 (also his first IHLC title), 1990 and 2008 Worlds.

🇺🇸 Phil Housley, ranked second all-time for points by an American player (behind 2014 nominee Mike Modano), spent 21 seasons as a journeyman with Buffalo, Winnipeg, St. Louis, Calgary, New Jersey, Washington, Chicago and Toronto, always a dependable producer on the blueline. Housley retired as a seven-time All-Star, racking up 1,232 points in 1,495 career games. With the red, white and blue, Housley suited up for six World Championships, three Canada / World Cups and the 2002 Olympics, winning Gold at the 1996 World Cup of Hockey. Housley, who debuted with the US National Team at the 1982 World Championships, won his first IHLC title at the 1986 World Championships.

🇺🇸 Angela Ruggiero, only the fourth woman to be called to the Hall, joined the U.S. national team as the youngest player on the Gold-winning squad at the Nagano Olympics, just her second major tournament. Ruggiero went on to capture four World Championship Gold Medals and a trio of Three/Four Nations Cup Golds, highlighted by the shootout winner to win the first-ever U.S. Gold Medal at the 2005 Worlds. Ruggiero also became the first non-goaltender female to play in a regular season professional game in the Central League in 2005, after an illustrious collegiate career at Harvard, capped in 2004 with winning the Patty Kazmaier Award as the top U.S. collegiate player.

Our congratulations go out to these five spectacular players joining the annals of history in Toronto this fall!

Photo Credit: Detroit Free Press – Global News – Russkiy Hockey – Planete Hockey ESPN – IIHFHHOFIOC


Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.