IIHF Announces 2018 Hall Of Fame Class

The IIHF announced the newest class of inductees to the Hall of Fame, highlighted by a quartet of international superstars – Daniel Alfredsson, Rob Blake, Jere Lehtinen and Chris Chelios, who will have their numerous achievements, both professionally and internationally, recognized in Denmark this May.

๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ช Daniel Alfredsson,ย who retired in 2014 after an 18 year NHL career with Ottawa and Detroit, was a winner of both the Calder and Clancy Trophies, a six-time NHL All-Star, and a Swedish Champion with Frรถlunda HC in 2005. With Tre Kronor, Alfredsson suited up for five Olympic Games, seven World Championships and both World Cups of Hockey, winning Olympic Goldย at the 2006 Turin Games, along with aย silver from the Sochi Olympics, as well as two silvers and three bronzes forย his World Championship and World Cup efforts.

๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Rob Blake, the long-time defensive anchor for the Los Angeles Kings, Colorado Avalanche and San Jose Sharks that won him a Stanley Cup in 2001, was also a defensive stalwart for many iterations of Team Canada, playing in 5 World Championships, 3 Olympic Games and the 1996 World Cup Of Hockey for his country. Blake also captured the IHLC in tandem with Gold Medals at the 1994 and 1997 World Championships, as well as with the Canadian team thatย won their firstย Olympic Gold in 50 yearsย in 2002.

๐Ÿ‡ซ๐Ÿ‡ฎ Jere Lehtinen, the 14-year NHL veteran with Dallas who wonย a Stanley Cup and three Selke Trophies,ย suited up for Finland at four World Championships, five Olympics and both the 1996 and 2004 World Cup of Hockey, remarkably medaling at all except two tournaments. Besides leading Finland to their first ever World Championship Gold in 1995, as part of the famed “Hupu, Tupu and Lupu” line, Lehtinen won silver at the Worlds in 1992, 1994 and 2007, as well as at the 2004 World Cup and 2006 Olympics.

๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Chris Chelios, the iron man of the NHL who had an illustrious 26 year NHL career, retired as the second oldest player in history to play in the NHL, winning three Stanley Cups and three Norris Trophies.ย One of the earliest American breakout stars in the game, Chelios played in in two World Juniors, four Olympics, three Canada Cups and two World Cups, capturing Gold as captain at the 1996 World Cup, winning silver at both the 1991 Canada Cup and 2002 Olympics. Chelios retired playing the most games in best-on-best competition of any player, at 47.

Special mention also goes out to the other inductees this year, Jesper Damgaard (Denmark) and builders Philippe Lacarriรจre (France), Bob Nadin (Canada) and Kirovs Lipmans (Latvia), who will all join the Hall at a ceremony in Copenhagen just prior to the Gold Medal Game next May at the World Championships.

Photo Credit:ย Ottawa Senatorsย –ย Hockey Canadaย –ย HS.fiGetty –ย IIHFHHOFIOC



Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.