๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Five Canadian Players Join Triple Gold Club

By virtue of Canada’s dominant Gold Medal victory in Beijing, five new players from Team Canadaย have now joined the women’s version of the Triple Gold Club, all adding Olympic Gold to their World Championship Gold and Clarkson Cup titles.

The group includes goaltender Ann-Renรฉe Desbiens, along with forwards Jamie Lee Rattray, Jillian Saulnier, Laura Stacey and Blayre Turnbull, all of whom won their Clarkson Cups before the league shut down in 2019, and all captured their first World Championship Gold this past August, also against their American rivals. Desbiens was the first to win the Clarkson Cup in 2012 with Montrรฉal, followed by Saulnier with Calgary in 2016, teammates Stacey and Rattray with Markham in 2018, and Turnbull with the final Clarkson Cup champions, the Calgary Inferno, in 2019.

These women now become members 26-31 of the Triple Gold Club, with Desbiens in particular becoming the sixth goaltender to join the club, and fifth Canadian, following Kim St-Pierre, Geneviรจve Lacasse, Sami Jo Small and Charline Labontรฉ. The four forwards bring up the total number of forwards in the Club to seventeen, with a dozen of those being Canadian.

Our congratulations go out to Ann-Renรฉe Desbiens, Jamie Lee Rattray, Jillian Saulnier, Laura Stacey and Blayre Turnbull on their achievement in joining this prestigious club of international hockey stars!

Photo Credit: Beijing 2022ย IIHFHHOFIOC



Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.